## 2011-J1159

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION honoring Dr. Bettye H. Perkins upon the occasion of her designation for special recognition by Today's Students Tomorrow's Teachers

WHEREAS, Individuals who give of their time and energies and serve the best interests of their communities are an asset beyond remuneration and cannot be sufficiently extolled; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Bettye H. Perkins has given not only of her time and energies but also of her competence, intelligence and leadership and consequently has been designated for special honor; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to honor Dr. Bettye H. Perkins upon the occasion of her designation for special recognition by Today's Students Tomorrow's Teachers, to be celebrated at its 16th Annual Recognition Breakfast on Friday, May 6, 2011; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Bettye Perkins has been called upon to contribute her time and talents to countless civic and charitable endeavors and has always given of herself unstintingly; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Bettye H. Perkins is the Founder and President of Today's Students Tomorrow's Teachers (TSTT); TSTT is a unique school based mentoring program that recruits and mentors culturally diverse and economically challenged high school students who are interested in pursuing a career in teaching, provides financial assistance for students to attend college, and places them as teachers and leaders who will inspire and strengthen their communities; and

WHEREAS, The program originally started with seven students from two Westchester County, New York school districts; with her enormous passion to open doors for young people, Dr. Perkins founded TSTT in 1994 and established it as a not-for-profit organization in 1998; and WHEREAS, With the support of school districts, colleges, corporations

and communities, TSTT currently supports nearly 50 high schools and over 600 students in three states (Connecticut, New York, and Virginia); twenty-two partnering colleges have agreed to assist in supporting TSTT students throughout their college education with a minimum 50% tuition scholarship; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Perkins, an educator and former IBM executive, has spent the past 17 years developing and implementing educational programs to enhance the academic achievement of young people in New York and throughout the northeast; she is the recipient of many awards and proclamations acknowledging her outstanding achievement in educational leadership, including the Special Parent Honoree Award from the New York State Education Department, and the Pathfinder Award from the New York State Association of Women in Administration; most recently, she received the Milton A. Williams, Jr. Scholars in Education Award from the Westchester Children's Museum; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Perkins earned her bachelor's degree in Education from North Carolina A&T State University, a master's degree in education administration from Pace University, and a doctorate degree in educational leadership and urban policy from Fordham University, where she documented TSTT as a new Regional Collaborative pre-collegiate Minority Teacher Recruitment Model; her work was also published as a best practice for Human Capital Management Strategies by the American Association of School Personnel Administrators (AASPA) in July of 2009; and WHEREAS, Throughout the entire period of her community service, a period of constructive involvement, Dr. Bettye Perkins has stood constant in dignity, good grace and humor; and

WHEREAS, With her throughout have been her husband, John, their children, Christopher and Jamal, all of whom feel privileged to be a part of her life and rejoice in her achievements; and WHEREAS, Rare indeed is the impressive dedication shown by an individual for the benefit of others which Dr. Bettye Perkins has displayed

throughout her life; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to honor Dr. Bettye H. Perkins upon the occasion of her designation for special recognition by Today's Students Tomorrow's Teachers; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to Dr. Bettye H. Perkins.