2011-J1228

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Mattituck High School Boys Basketball Team and Coach Paul Ellwood upon the occasion of capturing the Long Island Class B Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, The Mattituck Boys Basketball Team are the Long Island Class B Champions; the Tuckers defeated Malverne at the buzzer by a score of 68-67; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Coach Paul Ellwood, a skilled and inspirational tutor, respected for his ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, The team's overall record of 16-7 is outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Mattituck High School Boys Basketball Team, from the opening game of the season to participation in the championship, were a brotherhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, Coach Paul Ellwood has done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the team members toward their goals; and WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Coach Paul Ellwood and these outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, he it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Mattituck High School Boys Basketball Team; its members: Thomas Ascher, Steven Ascher, Connor Davis, Mike Mangiamele, Austin Tuthill, Conner Eagan, Yianni Rauseo, Ryan Malone, Cody Huntley, Matt Jacobs, Jovan Booker, Tom Sledjeski, Ryan Dinizio, and Eugene Allen; and Coach Paul Ellwood, and Assistant Coaches Kevin Chartrand and Mike Miller, on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Mattituck High School Boys Basketball Team and to the aforementioned coaches.