2011-J1423

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Garden City Girls' Winter Track Team upon the occasion of their outstanding 2010-2011 season

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Garden City Girls' Winter Track Team upon the occasion of their outstanding 2010-2011 season; and

WHEREAS, The Garden City Girls' Winter Track Team has distinguished itself throughout their 2010-2011 season, boasting two championships, numerous highlights and many individual accomplishments; and WHEREAS, With a banner season behind them, the Garden City Girls' Winter Track Team took home both the Conference II and Nassau County Class A Championships; and

WHEREAS, For the second year in a row, the Garden City Girls' Sprint
Medley Team captured the National Championship; and All-American Honors
went to Sprint Medley team members, Taryn Schmelzinger, Emma Gallagher,
Alexis Yeboah-Kodie, and Taylor Henning; and

WHEREAS, The 2010-2011 Garden City Girls' 4×400 meter relay team triumphed, winning the Millrose 4×400 meter race due to the outstanding athletic ability of team members Taryn Schmelzinger, Taylor Hennig, Emma Gallagher, and Jenna DeAngelo; and

WHEREAS, Teammates Taryn Schmelzinger, Jenna DeAngelo, Emma Gallagher,

Alexis Yeboah-Kodie, and Laura Jaeger put forth remarkable talent, carrying their team to a 3rd place win in the All-State 4×400 meter race; and

WHEREAS, Furthermore, individual county titles were won by 4 x 800 meter team consisting of: Katherine McGannon, Emily O'Neill, Kelly Tierney, and Jenna DeAngelo as well as the following individuals: Emma Gallager for the 1000 meter and 300 meter; Jen Gerland for the 300 meter; and Molly Josephs for the 1500 meter walk; and WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Coaches Erica Fregosi, Thomas Skrivanek, and Arthur Johnson, skilled and inspirational tutors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and WHEREAS, The team's overall record is outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Garden City Girls' Winter Track Team, from the opening meet of the season to participation in the champion-ship, were a sisterhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, Coaches Erica Fregosi, Thomas Skrivanek, and Arthur Johnson have done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the team members toward their goals; and

WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and the Garden City Girls' Winter Track Team's outstand-

ing athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Garden City Girls' Winter Track Team; its members: Julia Bais, Victoria Bee, Emily Cafaro, Michelle Campoli, Christina Capetola, Bianca Cassar, Kristen Conboy, Lauren Creighton, Margaret D'Antonio, Jenna DeAngelo, Katie Emmert, Laurel Fisher, Annie Foxen, Lindsay Galligan, Emma Gallagher, Jennifer Gerland, Stephanie Gerland, Catherine Gibbons, Taylor Hennig, Amber Henriquez, Jacqueline Hochheiser, Devon Ialenti, Laura Jaeger, Molly Josephs, Maggie Kennelly, Carly Knowles, Kelly Lawkins, Nicole Lind, Megan Logan, Allison Lohrer, Caitlin Mahland, Jacqueline Marino, Katherine McGannon, Katie McGovern, Jessica Mero, Paulette Mohacsi, Amanda Murolo, Kayla Murphy, Jacqueline O'Hare, Emily O'Neill, Katie O'Neill, Liza Pititto, Emily Priest, Kelly Punturo, Kristen Rasquin, Jacqueline Reid, Michelle Rotondo, Sarah Rubino, Alena Sceusa, Taryn Schmelzinger, Emily Schlapp, Kaitlin Shea, Kelly Tierney, Emily Quigley, Mary Kate Wallace, Brooke Warhurst, Alexis Yeboah-Kodie, and Jillian Yoo; and Coaches Erica Fregosi, Thomas Skrivanek, and Arthur Johnson on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Garden City Girls' Winter Track Team and to Coaches Erica Fregosi, Thomas Skrivanek, and Arthur Johnson.