2011-J68

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Freeport High School Football
Team and Coach Russ Cellan upon the occasion of capturing the Long
Island Class I Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, The Freeport High School Football Team are the Long Island Class I Champions; on Friday, November 26, 2010, at Hofstra University's Shuart Stadium, they won their second straight title by defeating Floyd High School by a score of 62-35; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Coach Russ Cellan, a skilled and inspirational tutor, respected for his ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, The team's overall record is outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Freeport High School Football Team, from the opening game of the season to participation in the championship, were a brotherhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven

themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, Coach Russ Cellan has done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the team members toward their goals; and WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Coach Russ Cellan and the outstanding athletes on the Freeport High School Football Team have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Freeport High School Football Team; its members: Cedric Smiley, Eric Corona, Isaiah Barnes, Jere Brown, Corey Marguez, Evan Lapice, Karsheen Azeem, Maurice Irby, Tesfa Greenwood, DeVaughn Allen, Aaryn Dozier, Errol Small, Brandon Lyons, Jovani Pierre, Chris Gutierrez, Edgar Cruz, Darrius Tillman, Stephen Baylock, Craig Finlay, Faner Vargas, Lashauan Thomas, William Brodsky, Emmerick Martin, Ken Berryhill, Michael Oquendo, Charles Hendricks, Patrick Mars, Edwin Sandoval, Melech Streeter, Jalil Burton, Justin Staton, Dom Albanese, Chris Sailsman, Greg Foster, Malek Lewis, Dorrington Myers, Daniel Olivier, Darien Merriett, Anthony Martinez, Marquell Green, Ken Urquhart-Green, Oscar Bruce, Robert Morales, Randy Dicks, Phil Stevenson, Derek Merritt, Jawan Gay, Jeff Williams, Cephas Knighton-Ward, Terrell Brown, and Coach Russ Cellan; and Assistant Coaches, Kirt Smith, Toby Elmore, Jimmy Jones, and Matt Cellan on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Freeport High School Football Team and to the aforementioned coaches.