2011-J1948

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the 2011 New York State Senate Women of Distinction

WHEREAS, It is the sense this Legislative Body to acknowledge and celebrate Women of Distinction who significantly add inspiration and encouragement to the people of this great Empire State: and WHEREAS, The New York State Senate Woman of Distinction program was created in 1998 as part of our state celebration of Women's History Month to honor exemplary women from across New York State whose singular professional or personal achievements, commitment to excellence and accomplishments merit special recognition; honorees are selected from nominations submitted from across the state: and WHEREAS, Women of every economic, ethnic and religious background have made significant contributions that are reflected across all aspects of society; and

WHEREAS, It is the custom of this Legislative Body to pay tribute to individuals of remarkable character, who have shown initiative and commitment in constantly pursuing higher goals for themselves as well as acting as role models to all women in their community; and WHEREAS, On behalf of the New York State Senate, I take this opportunity to congratulate Lori Bahnik, Helen Baran, Nicole Behrens, Carol Berry, Susan Boudreau, Wanda Jean Burris, Christa Caldwell, Virginia Clark, Debbie Cuevas, Bonnie Daggett, Elaine Delaney, Gloria M. Dixon, Ann E. Ellsworth, Lindsay Farrell, Dr. Susan Fox, Mathylde Frontus, Virginia Gallagher, Diane C. Ganz, Mary Herlihy Gearan, Deirdre Glenn, Karen Gordon, Elizabeth Gulotta, Phyllis E. Gunther, Mary E. Holtz, Grace Johnson, Debra Markell Kleinert, Dr. Anne M. Kress, Frances-Ann Lightsy, Fredericka G. Mabon, Dr. Martha MacGuffie (deceased), Barbara Medina, Elizabeth Miller, Janet Miller, Kate Miller, Elissa Montanti, Mary Morse, Jeanne Mullgrav, Kelly Myers, Mary Nelson, Judy Pepenella, Christine P'Simer, JoAnn Pushkin, Karen Y. Richmond, Beverly Roberts, Rossana Rosado, Indi L. Shelby, Vicki Simons, Mary Spink, Gretchen Hurley Sprock, Leslyn Stewart, Maria A. Thomson, Millie Tomidy-Pepper, Karen Washington, Judi Whittaker, and Kathleen Wojtaszek-Gariano as a

2011 New York State Senate Woman of Distinction, to be celebrated on Tuesday, May 24, 2011, at the Annual Women of Distinction Awards Ceremony in The Well of the Legislative Office Building; and WHEREAS, Women have become part of New York's lasting heritage by fighting against sterotypes, prejudice, and seemingly insurmountable obstacles; and

WHEREAS, From the women's suffrage movement just over 150 years ago to the present day, women have played and continue to play a crucial role in adding strength, understanding, and inspiration to the diversity and quality of life of the people of the State of New York; and WHEREAS, New York State has been, and continues to be, the home to many distinguished women who have made their mark in history as pioneers in their field, therefore laying the foundation for women after them to succeed; and

WHEREAS, September 11, 2011, will mark the 10-year Anniversary of the unprecedented tragedy that befell our State and Nation on September 11, 2001; this year we again remember "Women of Distinction" honorees Moira Smith, a decorated NYPD Officer; Captain Kathy Mazza, the first female commandant of the Port Authority Police Training Academy; and Yamel Merino, New York State's 2001 Emergency Medical Technician of the Year, all of whom were among the first responders on the scene at the World Trade Center, literally saving the lives of hundreds; and

WHEREAS, The horrific events on September 11th shone a bright light on the heroic actions of emergency service workers working side by side, running stride for stride, women and men worked together tirelessly to rescue and recover victims; Women of Distinction commemorates the role that women have always played in serving our communities; as emergency and rescue workers, and pay special tribute to the women heroes on the 10th Anniversary of 9/11 who made the ultimate sacrifice; and WHEREAS, This Legislative Body recognizes that New York State is the home to countless women who are strong and colorful threads, vital to the fabric of our rich heritage, who have contributed, and continue to add to the advancement of our culture through their traditional and non-traditional roles in society; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, It is the sense of this Legislative Body that those who enhance the well-being and vitality of their community and have shown a long and sustained commitment to excellence certainly have earned the

recognition and applause of all the citizens of this great Empire State; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the aforementioned Women of Distinction.