## 2011-J2510

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Sanford H. Calhoun High School Girls Varsity Badminton Team upon the occasion of capturing Nassau County Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, The Sanford H. Calhoun High School Girls Varsity Badminton Team are the Nassau County Champions; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Coaches Gregg Muscarella and Sue Litwin, both skilled and inspirational tutors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, The team's overall record is outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Sanford H. Calhoun High School Girls Varsity Badminton Team, from the opening match of the season to participation in the Championship, were a sisterhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and WHEREAS, Coaches Gregg Muscarella and Sue Litwin have done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the team members toward their goals; and

WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Coaches Gregg Muscarella and Sue Litwin and their outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Sanford H. Calhoun High School Girls Varsity Badminton Team; its members: Danielle Augugliaro, Fariha Chowdury, Jenna Del Bove, Diana Goldberg, Marissa Levy, Elise Meade, Samantha Torretta, Michelle Gutsin, Dana Klein, Tara Klein, Tiffany Minors, Tessa Patti, Kristi Tice, Sarah Orsi, Jessica Benitez, Jen Chen, Casey Cummings, Cortina Florez, Courtney Gill, Rachel Gott, Johanna Hearns, Katherine Kustas, Angela Lin, Colleen Macbride, Cecilia Miguel, Katherine Murchison, Giovanna Raheb, Jackie Ras, Melissa Reeves, Rachel Ross, Rebecca Schneider, Lauren Strezenec, Alyssa Waterman, Nicole Wojewoda, Sarah Clahane, Zoe Berke, Bella Feldman, Gabby Librizzi, Danielle Petrilli, and Rachel Krohn; and Coaches Gregg Muscarella and Sue Litwin on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Sanford H. Calhoun High School Girls Varsity Badminton Team and the aforementioned coaches.