2011-K727

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Shaker High School Boys Baseball Team and Coach Steve Frank upon the occasion of capturing the 2011 Section II Class AA Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, The Shaker High School Boys Baseball Team are the 2011 Section II Class AA Champions; the Blue Bison defeated Colonie High School by a score of 6-0 on Thursday, June 2, 2011, at Joe Bruno Stadium; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Head Coach Steve Frank and Assistant Coaches Wayne Jones and Justin Perry, skilled and inspirational tutors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and WHEREAS, The team's overall record is outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Shaker High School Boys Baseball Team, from the opening game of the season to participation in the champion-ship, were a brotherhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, Coach Steve Frank has done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the team members toward their goals; and WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and

accomplishment, and Coach Steve Frank and these outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Shaker High School Boys Baseball Team; its members: Evan Alaxanian, Joey Bilynsky, Zach Breen, Billy Carroll, Gabe Cassillo, Bobby Derico, Bryan Egan, Jeremy Fink, Derek Gardella, Jeff Hoffman, Drew Lasky, Brendan Murphy, Stephen Boldish, Andrew Brochu, Eric Egan, Jason Gallacchi, Nick Guerro, James Holmes, Corey McMeel, Jake Nash, and Mike Taggart; and Coaches Steve Frank, Wayne Jones and Justin Perry, as well as Chris Lang, Director of Operations on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Shaker High School Boys Baseball Team and to the aforementioned coaches and Chris Lang, Director of Operations.