2011-K691

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Binghamton Senators Hockey Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2011 Calder Cup

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to pay tribute to those exemplary athletes and organizations that excel in professional athletics, distinguishing themselves through notable achievements and representing the great Empire State with pride and determination; and WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Binghamton Senators Hockey Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2011 Calder Cup; and

WHEREAS, The coveted Calder Cup has been a motivational force for American Hockey League teams throughout the League's 75-year history; it is one of the sport's greatest challenges and ultimate honors to hoist the Calder Cup in victory; and

WHEREAS, The trophy is named for Frank Calder who served as the National Hockey League's first President from 1917 to 1943; during the 1920s, Mr. Calder was instrumental in guiding hockey into the mainstream of America's major cities, including Boston, New York, Detroit and Chicago, while helping in the formation of the American League; and WHEREAS, The Binghamton Senators proudly join four New York organizations which have been past winners of the prestigious Calder Cup, including: Rochester Americans, Albany River Rats, Buffalo Bisons, and Syracuse Stars; and

WHEREAS, The Binghamton Senators put the exclamation point on a remarkable turnaround season by capturing the 2011 Calder Cup championship with a 3-2 win over the Houston Aeros at the Toyota Center in Houston, Texas, on Tuesday, June 7, 2011; and

WHEREAS, Professional hockey came to Binghamton in 1973; the Binghamton Senators, who joined the American Hockey League (AHL) in 2002-2003 as the top development team of the National Hockey League's Ottawa Senators, had missed the playoffs for five consecutive seasons entering the 2010-2011 campaign but finished by earning the City of Binghamton its first championship in 29 years of hosting an American Hockey League

franchise; and

WHEREAS, In addition, Robin Lehner, the Binghamton Senators rookie goaltender, won the Jack A. Butterfield Trophy designating him the Most Valuable Player of the 2011 Calder Cup Playoffs and playing center, Corey Locke was named Most Valuable Player of the AHL; and WHEREAS, The Binghamton Senators play their home games in Broome County Veterans Memorial Arena in downtown Binghamton; the County and the County Executive's Office have been instrumental in promoting the hockey team; and

WHEREAS, American Food and Vending provide the team members and their loyal fans with both quality food and various beverage selections for purchase during the Binghamton Senators home games; and WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by the Binghamton Senators Hockey Team is due in great part to the efforts of Head Coach Kurt Kleinendorst, and Assistant Coach Steve Stirling, both skilled and inspirational tutors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; partaking in the team's success are Owners, Tim Smith, Tom Bolles, Lynn Bolles, Ray Stanton, Bob Carr and Tom Mitchell, as well as the Director of Player Development for the NHL's Ottawa Senators, Randy Lee; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Binghamton Senators Hockey Team, from the opening game of the season to its appearance in the Calder Cup Championship, were a brotherhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship,

and of honor, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment; the Binghamton Senators Hockey Team has clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their organization; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Binghamton Senators Hockey Team, its members: Eric Gryba, Patrick Coulombe, Jared Cowen, Mark Borowiecki, Craig Schira, Geoff Kinrade, David Sloane, Bob Raymond, Erik Condra, Bobby Butler, Roman Wick, Colin Greening, Cody Bass, Patrick Wiercioch, Zack Smith, Jim O'Brien, Jason Bailey, Derek Grant, Ryan Potulny, Corey Cowick, Derek Smith, David Dziurzynski, Kaspars Daugavins, Mike Hoffman, Ryan Keller, Mike Brodeur, Barry Brust, Pat Cannone, Robin Lehner, Brennan

Turner, David Hale, Andre Benoit, and Corey Locke; Head Coach Kurt Kleinendorst, Assistant Coach Steve Stirling, Owners, Tim Smith, Tom Bolles, Lynn Bolles, Ray Stanton, Bob Carr and Tom Mitchell, and Director of Player Development, Randy Lee on their outstanding season and their Calder Cup Championship; and be it further RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Binghamton Senators Hockey Team, Coaches, Owners and Director of Player Development.