2011-J3117

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Chautauqua Lake Central School Thunderbirds Football Team upon the occasion of capturing the Section VI Class DD Championship

WHEREAS, It is the intent of this Legislative Body to recognize and honor outstanding high school athletic teams that have exhibited the teamwork, commitment and drive to succeed in athletic competitions in this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, The Chautauqua Lake Central School Thunderbirds Football Team achieved the first Class DD Championship title in Chautauqua Lake history with its 14-0 win over the Clymer Central School Pirates on November 3, 2011, at Ralph Wilson Stadium in Orchard Park, New York; and WHEREAS, This talented group of young athletes embodies the true spirit of teamwork in achieving a goal, all while demonstrating the ability to balance the commitments of academics, family and athletics; and WHEREAS, Recognizing the heart, desire, team chemistry and capabilities of this team, the Chautauqua Lake Football Team's coaching staff encouraged this group of talented players as they made their dreams of a championship come true; and

WHEREAS, The Thunderbirds Football Team relentlessly pursued victory in interscholastic play throughout the regular season and beyond with a strong focus on defense, winning the school football program's firstever Section VI title; and

WHEREAS, In the Class DD state championship game with Clymer, the Chautauqua Lake Thunderbirds played a strong running game, with an exceptional effort by its special teams, helping the team to succeed in achieving the championship title; and

WHEREAS, The Chautauqua Lake Central School Thunderbirds Football Team ended its season with an overall record of 7-0, culminating in the Section VI Class DD Championship title; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Chautauqua Lake Central School Thunderbirds Football Team; its members: Christian Anderson, David Applegarth, Ben Aults, Chandler Baker, Josh Bradford, Jacob Butts, Adam Carpenter, Troy Cooper, David Figley, Nick Fisher, Tyler Furlow; Jeremy Gilbert, Dustin Graziano, Brandon Hilton, Rick Hoglund, Trent Howard, A.J. Hulton, Chris Kucharski, Kyle Mayer, Jason McMahon, Ryan Miller, Addison Paddock, Sean Peterson, Andrew Pezzulo, Anthony Pezzulo, Josh Pollock, Derek Rolfe, Colton Rowley, Jeremiah Russin, Chris Sampson, Cody Thomas, Jed Walsh, Aaron Wilcox, Nick Zentz and Robin Zuckerman; and Varsity Head Coach Dan Greco, Assistant Varsity Coach Ed Hulton, JV Coach Ehrich Zollinger and Assistant JV Coach Eric Schuster on capturing the Section VI Class DD Championship; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Chautauqua Lake Central School Thunderbirds Football Team.