2011-K1030

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION honoring Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee, and Tawakkol Karman upon the occasion of their designation as recipients of a Nobel Peace Prize

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize and honor individuals who contribute to our global community and the well-being of our society; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its longstanding traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to honor Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee, and Tawakkol Karman upon the occasion of their designation as recipients of a Nobel Peace Prize; and WHEREAS, These three outstanding individuals have received the world renowned Peace Prize from the Nobel Foundation for embodying the passion for peace and hunger for justice that fueled steadfast, non-violent struggles; and

WHEREAS, These women have addressed the citizens of New York State separately on many occasions both to participate in global discussions at the United Nations and in smaller venues to impart their knowledge and life experiences regarding the tumultuous path to peace and the critical need of international support for non-violent dissent; and WHEREAS, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf currently serves as the President of Liberia and is the first female Head of State of an African nation; and WHEREAS, President Sirleaf was the first sitting head of state to receive the Friend of the Media Award from The African Editor's Union for her unwavering commitment to the essential freedoms of speech and association; and

WHEREAS, Leymah Gbowee was one of the first Liberian women to stand against and help to end the 14 year Liberian civil war by organizing thousands of female peers to peacefully protest in unique and effective ways which demanded equitable participation in the democratic process and an end to war, violence, and corruption in government; and WHEREAS, Tawakkol Karman is the youngest Nobel Peace Laureate and first Arab woman to receive the honor; she co-founded Women Journalists Without Chains, a group of activist journalists from Yemen who rejected the country's status quo of severe oppression of women and stifling control of the media; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Karman has lead historic peaceful protests in Yemen that were met with governmental violence but still she perseveres and serves as an inspiration to her fellow Yemenites and the world; and WHEREAS, Global support for and protection of peaceful protest and non-violent assembly in the face of corruption, war, and oppression serves as a beacon of hope in war torn developing countries grasping for the promise of democracy; and WHEREAS, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee, and Tawakkol Karman all

persisted in their pursuits and exemplified courage in the face of obstacles; to lead a peaceful movement focused on democracy, freedom from war and persecution, and equal participation among genders is an extraordinary feat; and

WHEREAS, It is the custom of this Legislative Body that when individuals of such noble aims and accomplishments are brought to our attention, they should be celebrated and recognized by all the citizens of this great Empire State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to honor Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee, and Tawakkol Karman upon the occasion of their designation as recipients of a Nobel Peace Price; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee, and Tawakkol Karman.