2011-K1102

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the 2011-2012 St. Bonaventure University Men's Basketball Team upon the occasion of capturing the Atlantic 10 Conference Championship and being selected to the NCAA National Tournament

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body takes pleasure in honoring talented New York State college athletes who distinguish themselves, their school, and their community through outstanding athletic performance; and WHEREAS, The 2011-2012 St. Bonaventure University Men's Basketball Team achieved unparalleled excellence in capturing the Atlantic 10 Conference Championship and being selected to the NCAA National Tournament; and

WHEREAS, On March 11, 2012, in Atlantic City, New Jersey, the St.
Bonaventure University Men's Basketball Team defeated Xavier by a score of 67-56 to capture its first Atlantic 10 Conference Championship title and clinch its first NCAA Tournament berth since 2000; and WHEREAS, The Bonnies had an extraordinarily successful 2011-12 regular season, compiling its most number of victories (17) since the 2001-02 campaign and its most conference wins (10) since 2000; during the season, St. Bonaventure beat four teams ranked in the RPI top 80: Saint Joseph's, Dayton, Buffalo and Loyola; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Head Coach Mark Schmidt, and Assistant Coaches Dave Moore, Jeff Massey, and Steve Curran, skilled and inspirational tutors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the 2011-2012 St. Bonaventure University Men's Basketball Team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Mark Schmidt and his team of assistant coaches have done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the 2011-2012 St. Bonaventure University Men's Basketball Team members toward their goals; and

WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Head Coach Mark Schmidt, his assistant coaches, and the 2011-2012 St. Bonaventure University Men's Basketball Team's outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the 2011-2012 St. Bonaventure University Men's Basketball Team, its members: Eric Mosley, Charlon Kloof, Jordan Gathers, Danny Farrell, Demitrius Conger, Zach Moore, Youssou Ndoye, Chris Johnson, Matthew Wright, Michael Davenport, Marquise Simmons, Da'Quan Cook, Andrew Nicholson, and Jake Houseknecht; Head Coach Mark Schmidt; Assistant Coaches Dave Moore, Jeff Massey, and Steve Curran; Director of Basketball Operations Matt Pappano; Athletic Director Steve Watson; and University President Sister Margaret Carney, O.S.F., S.T.D.; on the occasion of their outstanding season, capturing the Atlantic 10 Confer-

ence Championship and being selected to the NCAA National Tournament; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members, coaching staff, director of basketball operations and athletic director of the 2011-2012 St. Bonaventure University Men's Basketball Team, and to the President of St. Bonaventure University.