2011-K1152

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION honoring the 2011-12 University at Albany's Women's Basketball Team upon the occasion of advancing to the NCAA Women's Basketball National Tournament and on its Outstanding Season

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and WHEREAS, On March 17, 2012, the University at Albany's Women's Basketball Team became the first SUNY Division I institution to advance to the NCAA Women's National Basketball Tournament; and WHEREAS, On Tuesday, April 10, 2012, the entire Capital Region will honor the 2011-12 University at Albany's Women's Basketball Team in celebration of the 40th year anniversary of Title IX; and WHEREAS, The 2011-12 University at Albany's Women's Basketball Team earned its entry into the NCAA Women's National Basketball Tournament by winning the American East Conference Championship by defeating The University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) 69-61; and WHEREAS, During the 2011-12 season, the Great Danes of the University at Albany won 10 straight games, and 17 of their last 19, to hold the highest win total for the university's women's basketball since 1985-86; the team finished the 2011-12 season with an outstanding 20-9 record, the first time since the 1991-92 season, that the University at Albany has reached the 20-win plateau; the team went undefeated on the road during the league slate to post a 14-2 conference record; and

WHEREAS, The University at Albany's Head Coach, Katie Abrahamson-Henderson, was named the America East Conference Women's Basketball Coach of the Year; in just her second year at the helm of the program, she led the Great Danes to a 20-9 record, and the second seed in the conference tournament; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Head Coach, Katie Abrahamson-Henderson and her team of assistant coaches, Adam Barrett, Amber Metoyer, Mary Grimes and Tahnee Balerio, skilled and inspirational tutors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the 2011-12 University at Albany's Women's Basketball Team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school;

WHEREAS, Head Coach, Katie Abrahamson-Henderson and her team of assistant coaches have done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the 2011-12 University at Albany's Women's Basketball Team members toward their goals; and

and

WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Head Coach, Katie Abrahamson-Henderson, her assistant coaches, and the 2011-12 University at Albany's Women's Basketball Team's outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the 2011-12 University at Albany Women's Basketball Team, its members: Cassandra Callaway, Cyndra Couch, Margarita Rosario, Sarah Royals, Ebone Henry, Lindsey Lowrie, Julie Forster, Allysia Rohlehr,

Kate Cronin, Keyana Williams, Adrienne Jones, Delaney Cohan, Megan Craig, and Tabitha Makopondo; Head Coach, Katie Abrahamson-Henderson; and Assistant Coaches Adam Barrett, Amber Metoyer, Mary Grimes and Tahnee Balerio; on their outstanding season, overall team record, America East Conference Championship and their NCAA Tournament participation; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the 2011-12 University at Albany's Women's Basketball Team, and to Head Coach, Katie Abrahamson-Henderson; and Assistant Coaches Adam Barrett, Amber Metoyer, Mary Grimes and Tahnee Balerio.