2011-J4286

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION commending the winners of the New Hyde Park Chapter of the Future Business Leaders of America at the Annual Spring District Meeting

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to commend and pay tribute to those young people who, by achieving outstanding success in educational endeavors, have inspired and brought pride to our majestic Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its longstanding traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to commend the winners of the New Hyde Park Chapter of the Future Business Leaders of America at the Annual Spring District Meeting; and WHEREAS, On February 10, 2012, New Hyde Park Memorial High School students competed against other schools in Nassau County in various business related events at the annual spring business competition sponsored by the Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA); the event was held at Molloy College in Rockville Centre, New York; and WHEREAS, At the spring 2012 FBLA competition, 21 New Hyde Park Memorial High School students participated and eight students received prestigious awards in business related events; and WHEREAS, The New Hyde Park Memorial High School student winners at the FBLA Annual Spring District Meeting were: Ancy Alexander -- Introduction to Business (2nd Place) and Basic Decision Making (5th Place); Ronny Reyes -- Business Communications (2nd Place); Keith Heeseman --Sports Management (2nd Place); Alban Zekthi -- Word Processing II (2nd Place); Abby Hawley -- Personal Finance (3rd Place); Jonathan Chambers -- Client Service (3rd Place); Christiana Kastalek -- Public Speaking II (4th Place) and Andrew Valentin -- Job Interview (5th Place); and WHEREAS, As a result of their success at the competition at the Annual Spring District Meeting of FBLA, the winning students were invited to attend the FBLA State Leadership Conference in Rochester, New York; and WHEREAS, It is appropriate to celebrate the individual accomplishments of remarkable and exceptional students who participate in these educational endeavors and who have achieved noteworthy recognition for their

efforts; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is proud to recognize and applaud New Hyde Park Memorial High School students Ancy Alexander, Ronny Reyes, Keith Heeseman, Alban Zekthi, Abby Hawley, Jonathan Chambers, Christiana Kastalek and Andrew Valentin for their outstanding success, achievement and noteworthy accomplishment; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body that when outstanding students and individuals of such noble aims and notable accomplishments are brought to our attention, they should be recognized by all the citizens of this great Empire State; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to

commend the winners of the New Hyde Park Chapter of the Future Business Leaders of America at the Annual Spring District Meeting; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to Ancy Alexander, Ronny Reyes, Keith Heeseman, Alban Zekthi, Abby Hawley, Jonathan Chambers, Christiana Kastalek and Andrew Valentin.