2011-K1157

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION commemorating the 20th Annual National Jewish Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on April 29, 2012

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to acknowledge outstanding individuals from the sporting world who have distinguished themselves through exceptional performance, attaining unprecedented success and the highest level of personal achievement; and WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to commemorate the 20th Annual National Jewish Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, to be held at the Suffolk Y Jewish Community Center in Commack, New York, on Sunday, April 29, 2012; and WHEREAS, Founded in 1993, the National Jewish Sports Hall of Fame and Museum is dedicated to honoring Jewish athletes, coaches, executives and other sports figures who have distinguished themselves in the world of sports; its objective is to foster Jewish identity through athletics; and

WHEREAS, In a world where stereotype and prejudice have not been eradicated, the National Jewish Sports Hall of Fame reminds us of heroes of the courts and playing fields who have emerged from a people not commonly associated with sports; and

WHEREAS, The distinguished 2012 National Jewish Sports Hall of Fame inductees are: Sy Berger, legendary Topps executive and father of modern day baseball cards; the late Al "Bummy" Davis, a tough but good-hearted welterweight boxer from the Brownsville section of Brooklyn; Jon Denning, famed NASCAR driver; Mike Hartman, former NHL player; Debbie Belkin Rademacher, former player with the U.S. Women's National Soccer Team and collegiate coach; the late Arthur Richman, Senior Advisor, Media Relations, New York Yankees; Howie Rose, currently the radio voice

of the New York Mets and television voice of the New York Islanders; Jerry Solomon, one of America's top sports marketing executives; and Joanna Zeiger, first triathlete to be inducted into the National Jewish Sports Hall of Fame; and

WHEREAS, The careers of the inductees of the National Jewish Sports Hall of Fame provide a legacy of commitment and excellence, bringing them distinction and serving as inspiring models for all who aspire to growth and success; and

WHEREAS, In addition to inducting the nine new Hall of Famers, The Jules D. Mazor Award to the Outstanding Male Jewish High School Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be presented to Jake Freeman, Half Hollow Hills East, Dix Hills, New York; The Pearl D. Mazor Award to the Outstanding Female Jewish High School Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be presented to Ashley Grossman, Harvard-Westlake School, Studio City, California and Samantha Nadel, North Shore High School, Glen Head, New York; The Marty Glickman Outstanding Jewish Scholastic Athlete of the Year Award will be presented to Adam Ghitelman, University of Virginia, Greg Hirshman, Stanford University, and Naama Shafir, University of Toledo; The Dick Steinberg Good Guy Award will be presented to Lenny Silberman, CEO, Henry Kaufman Campgrounds; and The George Young Award will be presented to Team Hoyt-Dick and Rick Hoyt; and WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body that when individuals of such accomplishment are brought to our attention, they should be celebrated and recognized by all the citizens of the great State of New York; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to

Induction Ceremony on Sunday, April 29, 2012, and to wish the inductees continued success in all their future endeavors; and be it further RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the National Jewish Sports Hall of Fame and Museum and to

commemorate the 20th Annual National Jewish Sports Hall of Fame

each of the aforementioned inductees and award recipients.