## 2013-J265

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION honoring Great Neck North and Great Neck South students upon the occasion of receiving National Advanced Placement Scholar Awards

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to act, in accord with its long-standing traditions, honoring the youth of today, and leaders of tomorrow, whose character and achievements best exemplify the ideals and values cherished by this great State and Nation; and WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its longstanding traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to honor Great Neck North and Great Neck South students upon the occasion of receiving National Advanced Placement Scholar Awards; and WHEREAS, The National Advanced Placement (AP) Scholar award was granted to students who received an average score of at least 4 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams; and

WHEREAS, Receiving this award from North High: Saba Askari, Kristine Chen (earned perfect scores on her 12 exams), Spencer Edelstein, Kashfia Ehsan, Laura Epstein, Alison Freudman, Mathew Hakimi, Julia Huang, Neda Kashani, Claire Leibowicz, Daniel Nassimi, Marina Nebro, Brett Parket, Alex Paseltiner, Matthew Peterson, Justin Rashtian, Michael Shamouilian, Xiaonan Tong, Allison Wang, Catherine Wang, and Susan Wu; and WHEREAS, From South High: Emily Bai, Daniel Belmont, Jane Berrill, Katie Blitsman, Agnes Chang, Brian Chang, Lindsay Charlop, Roel Curi-Hoory, Philip Daian, Alexa Davis, Jonathan Davis, Bryan Dieber, Rosario (Ross) Dispenza, Sara Eng, Deren Ertas, Andrew Greener, Andrew Halpern, Nicholas Hou, Alan Hsu, Thomas Ilyevsky, Vita Jaspan, Esther Jiang (earned perfect scores on her 11 exams), Angela Kim, Jin Han Kim, Michael Kim, Soo Kyung (Sarah) Kim, Daniel Lee, David Lee, Maria Lee, Sean Leong, Brian Lim, Andrew Liu, Pengyun (Chris) Liu, Casey Mangin, Benjamin Manning, Eve Matthaey, Jennifer Mayer, Lakshmi Nair, Terence Ng, Elizabeth Noh, Michael Perreux, Harrison Pravder, Juliette Reiss, Brian Rosenfeld, Joshua Rosenfeld (earned perfect scores on his 11 exams), Evan Savell, Adi Slepack, Breanna Small, Alexander Smith, Howard Weiss, Brian Wong, Daniel Wong, Patrick Yang, Peter Yoon, May Yuan, Cory Zelniker, and Xingyan (Ryan) Zhang; and WHEREAS, Poised eagerly with enthusiasm and determined purpose, these scholars now stand honorably, with just pride in their accomplishments and in eager anticipation of future challenges, understanding and appreciating the caring counsel and support provided by their teachers, mentors and parents; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to honor Great Neck North and Great Neck South students upon the occasion of receiving National Advanced Placement Scholar Awards; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the aforementioned National AP Award recipients.