2013-J1059

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION commending the Brooklyn Section of the National Council of Negro Women, Inc. and honoring the young achievers who will be recognized at its 28th Annual Harambee Celebration on April 20, 2013

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to commend those illustrious organizations within the State of New York whose focus and intent have made a substantial impact on the quality of life in their communities: and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, it is the intent of this Legislative Body to commend the Brooklyn Section of the National Council of Negro Women, Inc. and to honor the young achievers who will be recognized at its 28th Annual Harambee Celebration, to be held at the Janes United Methodist Church in Brooklyn, NY on Saturday, April 20, 2013; and WHEREAS, The Brooklyn Section of the National Council of Negro Women, Inc. was organized on January 22, 1962 at the Bedford YMCA by Odessa L. Skeene and received its Charter on March 12, 1962; and WHEREAS, Since its inception, the Brooklyn Section has worked to bring to its members a greater awareness of community activities and fuller participation in these affairs; and

WHEREAS, For the past 50 years, the Brooklyn Section of the National Council of Negro Women, Inc. has flourished under 12 past presidents:

Odessa L. Skeene, Anne McMillan, Reva M. Anthony, Narcissus Frett-Moses, Ruth Ford, Dorothy T. Leggett, Glenys Pantaleon, Alma R. Garrette, Marva D. Earle-Jones, Ellen F. Haywood, Essie E. Gregory and Jennifer LeGrand; today, under the insightful direction of the current and 13th President, Melissa-Denise Hayes, the Brooklyn Section continues its extraordinary work with professionalism, dedication and compassion; and WHEREAS, The Brooklyn Section maintains a strong commitment to its young people through education, outreach programs, counseling and recognition; it sponsors community ventures to enhance the health and social services of residents through seminars, health fairs and voter registration campaigns for self-empowerment; and

WHEREAS, The Mary McLeod Bethune Day Care Center, organized and spon-

sored by the Brooklyn Section, has served thousands of the community's children; and

WHEREAS, The ten young achievers who will be honored at the 28th Annual Harambee Celebration were selected for their academic accomplishments, community service and church activities; and

WHEREAS, The 2013 honorees include Gianna J.M. Boone, Nyah Caldwell, Brittany M. Lee-Benbow, Zipporah Odom, Kayan Petgrave, Nia Pierre, Daniel Revell, Malachi Aaron Townsley, Matthew P.B. Walker and Jenise D. Wilkerson; and

WHEREAS, It is the intent of this Legislative Body to join with the Brooklyn Section of the National Council of Negro Women, Inc. in honoring the achievements of these ten hardworking young people and leaders of tomorrow upon the occasion of the 28th Annual Harambee Celebration; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to commend the Brooklyn Section of the National Council of Negro Women, Inc. and to honor the young achievers who will be recognized at its 28th Annual Harambee Celebration on April 20, 2013; and be it further RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to Melissa-Denise Hayes, President of the Brooklyn Section of the National Council of Negro Women, Inc. and to the aforementioned honorees.