2013-K561

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION honoring the Greater Rochester FIRST Robotics

Competition Team 340 upon the occasion of capturing the Chairman's Award at the Finger Lakes Regional Competition

WHEREAS, New York State's commitment to education is unparalleled; its history and stature are secured by the superlative caliber of its educational professionals and the students they inspire; and WHEREAS, It is the intent of this Legislative Body to commend and pay tribute to those young people who have inspired and brought pride to their school and community by achieving outstanding success in competition; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its longstanding traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to honor the Greater Rochester FIRST Robotics Competition Team 340 upon the occasion of capturing the Chairman's Award at the Finger Lakes Regional Competition; and

WHEREAS, The Regional Chairman's Award honors the team that best represents a model for other teams to emulate and which embodies the goals and purpose of FIRST (For Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology); and

WHEREAS, The Greater Rochester FIRST Robotics Competition Team 340 was founded in 1999; the goal of FIRST is to encourage students of all ages to become interested in and to pursue careers in the fields of Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM); and WHEREAS, Created to keep the central focus of the FIRST Robotics Competition on the ultimate goal of transforming our culture into one

where youth aspire to careers in science and technology, the Chairman's Award is the most prestigious award presented by FIRST; and WHEREAS, The Greater Rochester FIRST Robotics Competition Team 340

gives back to its community through volunteering and community service; this past year, the team completed 4,543 hours of community service; and WHEREAS, Through demonstrations and volunteering, 21 of Greater Rochester FIRST Robotics Competition Team 340 members received the Presidential Volunteer Service Award this year, including 11 Bronze (100-174 hours), four Silver (175-249 hours) and six Gold (over 250 hours); in the past three years, the Team has completed 10,236 hours of community service; and

WHEREAS, Recently, the Greater Rochester FIRST Robotics Competition
Team 340 was one of 10 National Honorees for the National Make a Difference Day Award sponsored by the USA WEEKEND MAGAZINE, Points of Light Foundation and Newman's Own; Make a Difference Day is the nation's largest day of giving back; and

WHEREAS, The Greater Rochester FIRST Robotics Competition Team 340 held a "FIRST Mega Drive" which included a food drive for Foodlink, a children's book drive for National Reach Out and Read, a blood drive for the American Red Cross, and an electronics recycling drive to help keep electronics out of the landfills; these particular drives were held simultaneously and were held in conjunction with an off-season robotics competition hosted by another FIRST Team in the Rochester area; and WHEREAS, For being one of the 10 National honorees, the Greater Rochester FIRST Robotics Competition Team 340 was awarded a scholarship to be donated to a charity of its choice; the scholarship was then given to Rochester Community Robotics, a not-for-profit organization, to help develop new FIRST teams in the Rochester area; and WHEREAS, One of the Greater Rochester FIRST Robotics Competition Team 340's major goals is to help all schools in New York State to have the opportunity to start FIRST teams in their schools; and

WHEREAS, Sponsored by Bausch and Lomb and GE volunteers as well as other local businesses, the Greater Rochester FIRST Robotics Competition Team 340 has won the Chairman's Award seven out of the last nine years

at the Finger Lakes Regional Competition, which is held at the Rochester Institute of Technology every year; and

WHEREAS, The distinguished members of the Greater Rochester FIRST Robotics Competition Team 340, include: Carlo Atene, Adam Audycki, Laura Brunelle, Daniel Felix, Joel Ferrigno, Pat Godard, Michelle Insalaco, Daniel Keister, Tyler Lane, Christa Lawniczak, Courtney Kuhn, Benjamin Meyers, Roger Miller, Melissa Nellist, Taylor Nobles, Rachel Burnell, Darbi Conradt, Allison Maus, Emily Moses, James Buduson, Michael Burns, Joe Hunt, Anthony Jaramillo, Sean Majchrzak, Tyler Pawlaczyk, Taylor Pietruszeuski, Justin Sangiorgi, Shannon Sweeney, Matt Stafford, Tyler Banker, Nick Schell, Mike Cheesbro, Zach Cooper, Anna Doyle, Katy Flynn, Abby Wasmer, Brett Harling, Mike Bailey, Austin Husted, Caitlin Cumming, Connor O'Neill, Dayle Steiner, Ashley Jaramillo, Jeremy Yunker, and Jordan Melita; Team Leader Jason Rees; Assistant Team Leaders Rob Heslin and Ellen Swift; and Team Mentors Bruce Becker, William Brunelle, Philip Cripps, Rex Hays, Cheryl Lawniczak, Gary Lawniczak, John Lawniczak, Kristen McConnell, Justin Montois, Chuck Moon, Barry Nobles, Colin Nobles, Lisa Nobles, and Mike Starke; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to acknowledge outstanding students who distinguish themselves through their exceptional performance and stand as a sterling example and inspiration to all who would aspire to success; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to honor the Greater Rochester FIRST Robotics Competition Team 340 upon the occasion of capturing the Chairman's Award at the Finger Lakes Regional Competition; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Greater Rochester FIRST Robotics Competition Team 340.