## 2013-K589

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION honoring George N. Boulukos upon the occasion of his designation as the recipient of Boy Scouts of America's prestigious Silver Buffalo Award

WHEREAS, The Silver Buffalo Award is Boy Scouts of America's most prestigious award; it exemplifies the pinnacle of achievement and is given by Boy Scouts of America to recognize extraordinary commitment to scouting and to youth; and WHEREAS, George Boulukos, of Freeport, New York, truly merits this high honor which is scouting's highest commendation of the invaluable contributions which outstanding Americans, such as George N. Boulukos, make to and on behalf of youth; and WHEREAS, George N. Boulukos has been a lifelong Boy Scout, working tirelessly to promote the goals and objectives of the Boy Scouts of America; he was born and raised in Merrick and resides with his family in Freeport, New York; and WHEREAS, George Boulukos has served the Boy Scout program on many levels and has worked within his community and throughout the United States on district, national and international programs and activities; and WHEREAS, In fitting recognition of his sixty years of service, the National Court of Honor and the Boy Scouts of America National Executive Board have selected him to receive the esteemed Silver Buffalo Award for all he has done for Scouting and for the youth of America; and WHEREAS, Created in 1925, the first Silver Buffalo Award was conferred upon Lord Robert Baden-Powell, founder of the Scouting Movements and Chief Scout of the World; and

WHEREAS, Some other well-known and deserving recipients of the Silver Buffalo Award include Charles A. Lindbergh, Eddie Rickenbacher, James A. Lovell, Jr., John Glenn, Neil Armstrong, Norman Rockwell, Charles M. Schultz, Walt Disney, Hank Aaron, Vince Lombardi, Yogi Berra, Bob Hope, Marian Anderson, Irving Berlin, Art Linkletter, Carlos P. Romulo, Dr. Ralph Bunch, Marian Wright Edelman, H. Ross Perot, J. W. Marriott, General Colin L. Powell, Bill Gates and 14 presidents of the United States; and

WHEREAS, The well-deserved Silver Buffalo Award was presented to George N. Boulukos at the Boy Scouts of America's National Meeting held in Grapevine, Texas in appreciation of his many years of exceptional service to youth; and

WHEREAS, The Silver Buffalo Award exemplifies and epitomizes the many other scouting awards George Boulukos has appreciatively received over the years, including the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award and the Silver Antelope Award; and

WHEREAS, George Boulukos is justly proud to be the first Greek American to receive this prestigious award; he has been Chairman of the Eastern Orthodox Committee on Scouting, which includes all the Orthodox units in the United States and, he is a Co-Founder of Desmos, an international organization of Eastern Orthodox Christian Scouts; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to honor George N. Boulukos upon the occasion of his designation as the recipient of Boy Scouts of America's prestigious Silver Buffalo Award; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to George N. Boulukos.