2015-J169

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating Byeongho Jung, Bongseok Jung, Raphael Kim, Jacqueline Lee, Lopa Shah, and Jim Tse of Herricks High School upon the occasion of being named Semifinalists at the 2014 Siemens Competition in Math, Science & Technology

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to commend and pay tribute to those who, by achieving outstanding success in their educational and scientific endeavors, have inspired and brought pride to our majestic Empire State; and

WHEREAS, It is also the custom of this Legislative Body to recognize the dedication and commitment of our young people who distinguish themselves through excellence in science competition; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate Byeongho Jung, Bongseok Jung, Raphael Kim, Jacqueline Lee, Lopa Shah, and Jim Tse of Herricks High School upon the occasion of being named Semifinalists at the 2014 Siemens Competition in Math, Science & Technology; and

WHEREAS, The Siemens Competition in Math, Science & Technology was established in 1999 to promote excellence by encouraging students to undertake projects to foster intensive research; the Competition is administered by Discovery Education and funded by the Siemens Foundation; and

WHEREAS, One of the country's two top competitions for high school researchers, the Siemens Competition in Math, Science & Technology recognizes remarkable talent early on, fostering individual growth for high school students who are willing to challenge themselves through science research; and

WHEREAS, Through this competition, students have an opportunity to

achieve national recognition for science research projects that they complete in high school; of the approximately 1,500 projects submitted for consideration in this year's Competition, only 300 were selected as Regional Finalists or Semifinalists; and

WHEREAS, Herricks High School students Byeongho Jung, Bongseok Jung, Raphael Kim, Jacqueline Lee, Lopa Shah, and Jim Tse were named Semifinalists in this prestigious competition; the school was proud to have been recognized has having more students qualify than all other Nassau and Suffolk public schools; and

WHEREAS, Bongseok Jung's research project was, "4-Methylimidazole and Autoimmune Diseases: Agonizing Estrogen Receptors to Cause Cytokine Dysregulation, TLR Overexpression, and Integrin-Mediated Cell Adhesion in Human Leukocytes"; he completed his research at Adelphi University under the supervision of Drs. Wei Zhu and Benjamin Weeks; and WHEREAS, Byeongho Jung's research project was, "Nitric Oxide with Selicin Inhibits Neuroblastoma Growth Through BAX/BCL-2 and TNF Apoptotic Pathways and G1 Cycle Arrest While Selectively Inhibiting COX-2 In Non-cancerous cells"; he completed his research at the Neuroscience Research Institute at the State University of New York, at Old Westbury, with guidance from Dr. Wei Zhu; and

WHEREAS, Raphael Kim's research project was, "Developing a Jet Algorithm Using Topography-Sensitive Parallel DBSCAN"; he completed his research at Brookhaven National Laboratory, alongside mentor Dr. Helio Takai; and

WHEREAS, Jacqueline Lee's research project was, "The Effect of Electronic Cigarettes on Platelet Aggregation"; she completed her research at the State University of New York at Stony Brook, Biomedical Engineering Department, under mentor Wei Yin; and

WHEREAS, Lopa Shah's research project was, "A Potential Signaling Pathway Between A2A receptor and Semaphorin 4D"; she completed her research at New York University Langone Medical Center, with mentor Dr.

Aranzazu Mediero Munoz; and

WHEREAS, Jim Tse's research project was, "The Effects of Biomechanical Dosage on Osteoarthritis Knee Replacement Prosthesis (e-tibia) to Measure Compressive Joint Forces In Vivo"; he completed his project at the Leon Root Motion Analysis Laboratory at the Hospital for Special Surgery, under the tutelage of mentor Dr. Howard J. Hillstrom; and WHEREAS, Educational competitions which serve to better prepare our students for their future are worthy of praise and support; and WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate Byeongho Jung, Bongseok Jung, Raphael Kim, Jacqueline Lee, Lopa Shah, and Jim Tse of Herricks High School upon the occasion of being named Semifinalists at the 2014 Siemens Competition in Math, Science & Technology, and for their noteworthy educational and scientific endeavors and achievements; their outstanding performance has clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school and community; and

WHEREAS, Poised eagerly with enthusiasm and determined purpose, these scholars now stand honorably, with just pride in their accomplishments and in eager anticipation of future challenges, understanding and appreciating the caring counsel and support provided by their teachers and parents; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate Byeongho Jung, Bongseok Jung, Raphael Kim, Jacqueline Lee, Lopa Shah, and Jim Tse of Herricks High School upon the occasion of being named Semifinalists at the 2014 Siemens Competition in Math, Science & Technology; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the aforementioned students.