2015-J1927

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the 2015 New York State Senate Women of Distinction

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to acknowledge and celebrate Women of Distinction who significantly add inspiration and encouragement to the people of this great Empire State; and WHEREAS, The New York State Senate Women of Distinction program was created in 1998 as part of our state celebration of Women's History Month to honor exemplary women from across New York State whose singular professional or personal achievements, commitment to excellence and accomplishments merit special recognition; honorees are selected from nominations submitted from across the state; and WHEREAS, Women of every economic, ethnic and religious background have made significant contributions that are reflected across all aspects of society; and

WHEREAS, It is the custom of this Legislative Body to pay tribute to individuals of remarkable character, who have shown initiative and commitment in constantly pursuing higher goals for themselves as well as acting as role models to all women in their community; and WHEREAS, On behalf of the New York State Senate, I take this opportunity to congratulate Marisol Alcantara, Catherine A. Allain, Ph.D. Edu, Jane Aoyama-Martin, Mary Ann Ashley, Susan Auriemma, Gail Lynch Bailey, Janice Barto, Wendy Bleier-Mervis, Jacqueline Campbell, Master Sergeant Sue Clark, Deborah Coates, Christine Colligan, Kim Condon, Marsha Connor, Amy Cram, Carrie Davis, Jackie Drayton, Lou Jean Fleron, Joan A. Furey, RN, MA, Cristina Furlong, The Honorable Victoria A. Graffeo, Kamillah M. Hanks, Shawyn Patterson Howard, Cantor Dr. Mindy Jacobsen, Joan Kaplan, Patricia E. Kennedy, Emily Kessler, Rosemarie Kluepfel, Sister Mary Ann LoGiudice, RSM, Peggy Marone, Randi Martos, Teresa McPhail, Missy Miller, Deborah Gordon Mullaney, Shirley A. Mullen, Ph.D., Mabel Muniz-Sarduy, JoAnne Luthmann Nolemi, Sister Mary Celeste O'Bryan, LaQuita Outlaw, Ed.D., Sharon F. Owens, Libby Pataki, Betty Pollack, Gail Reed-Barnett, Ed.D., Carol Ann Rinzler, Carmen G. Rivera, Jenny Rivera, Susan Salomone, Rev. Dr. Ernestine Sanders, Dream

Shepherd, Elizabeth Sherwood, Barbara Stuchinski, Marie Testa, Rachel Thieme, Linda A. Thomas, Aixa Torres, Marta Moreno Vega, Joanne Donaruma Wade, Kerry W. Walsh, Ella J. Weiss, Joyce Willetts, Ph.D., Lee Anne Xippolitos, Ph.D., and Marjorie V. Zmijewski as 2015 New York State Senate Women of Distinction, to be celebrated on Tuesday, May 5, 2015, at the Annual Women of Distinction Awards Ceremony in The Well of the Legislative Office Building; and

WHEREAS, Women have become part of New York's lasting heritage by fighting against stereotypes, prejudice, and seemingly insurmountable obstacles; and

WHEREAS, From the women's suffrage movement just over 150 years ago to the present day, women have played and continue to play a crucial role in adding strength, understanding, and inspiration to the diversity and quality of life of the people of the State of New York; and WHEREAS, New York State has been, and continues to be, the home to many distinguished women who have made their mark in history as pioneers in their field, therefore laying the foundation for women after them to succeed; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body recognizes that New York State is the home to countless women who are strong and colorful threads, vital to the fabric of our rich heritage, who have contributed, and continue to add to the advancement of our culture through their traditional and non-traditional roles in society; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, It is the sense of this Legislative Body that those who enhance the well-being and vitality of their community and have shown a long and sustained commitment to excellence certainly have earned the recognition and applause of all the citizens of this great Empire State; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the aforementioned Women of Distinction.