2015-J2775

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Levittown-Hicksville Boys Varsity Ice Hockey Team upon the occasion of winning the 2015 Liberty Division Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive team sports can be achieved only through rigorous training, mental and physical discipline, and a dedicated coaching staff; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize those talented young individuals within our midst, who by achieving outstanding success in athletic competitions, have inspired and brought great pride to their school and community; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Levittown-Hicksville Boys Varsity Ice Hockey Team upon the occasion of winning the 2015 Liberty Division Championship; and WHEREAS, The Levittown-Hicksville Boys Varsity Ice Hockey Team was victorious over Friends Academy to win the 2015 Liberty Division Title for the High School Hockey League of Nassau County; and WHEREAS, No team can succeed without outstanding talent throughout its entire roster, as is the case for the Levittown-Hicksville Boys Varsity Ice Hockey Team: Bob Barbosa, Brandon Bellairs, Matt Collins, John Connelly, Bailey Greszes, Connor Menig, Matt McGuirk, Sean O'Regan, James Ryder, Justin Rodriguez, Hunter Traenkle, Michael Walsh, John Fordham, Patrick Greaney, Taylor Traenkle, Luke Walker, Matt King and Max Horn; and

WHEREAS, Throughout the entire winter sports season, these remarkable young athletes demonstrated strong play, impressive effort and excellent sportsmanship to finish out a successful season and bring great pride to their school and community; and

WHEREAS, The team's overall record is outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and

WHEREAS, The superior talent displayed by the Levittown-Hicksville Varsity Ice Hockey Team is in great part due to the efforts of Coaches

Tom Carroll, David Gallart, John King, and Tom Mastroianni, skilled and inspirational mentors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, These coaches did a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring members of the Levittown-Hicksville Boys Varsity Ice Hockey Team toward their goals; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the players of the Levittown-Hicksville Boys Varsity Ice Hockey Team proved to be a terrific combination of talent; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to hereby recognize and congratulate the members of the Levittown-Hicks-ville Boys Varsity Ice Hockey Team, and Coaches Tom Carroll, David Gallart, John King, and Tom Mastroianni, upon the occasion of winning the 2015 Liberty Division Championship; and be it further RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Levittown-Hicksville Boys Varsity Ice Hockey Team, and the aforementioned coaches.