

NEW YORK STATE SENATOR

Jose M. Serrano

## Serrano and Senate Colleagues Announce Task Force on Government Efficiency

JOSÉ M. SERRANO March 2, 2010

ISSUE: ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT, GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS, BUDGET



(Albany, NY) – Demonstrating their commitment to developing a fiscally responsible budget, the Senate Majority Conference announced the formation of a new bipartisan task force on government efficiency. Senator José M. Serrano (D-Manhattan/Bronx) is a member of the twelve-member task force Chaired by Deputy Senate Majority Leader Jeff Klein. They will conduct a statewide investigation into the spending practices of state agencies and operations to uncover areas of administrative inefficiencies and government waste. "As we face tough budgetary choices once again this year, Senators from every corner of the state must work together to examine and analyze all means of saving money for New York and providing relief to hardworking taxpayers," said Senator Serrano.

"In a time during which we're enduring cuts to important programming for seniors and children, we must ensure that precious dollars aren't lost on government waste and inefficiency. I look forward to joining my colleagues in presenting the Senate and the State with a full report on the findings of the task force regarding potential opportunities for saving, while practicing fiscal responsibility."

The task force will work to uncover inefficient government spending and develop solutions to put taxpayer dollars to better use, in an effort to help close the substantial state budget shortfall in Governor Paterson's proposed budget for Fiscal Year 2010-2011. By rooting out inefficiency, this special Task Force on Government Efficiency will recommend to the Senate ways to control government spending at all state agencies. This in turn will allow New York State to cut wasteful spending and provide vital tax relief statewide.

Participating in the task force alongside Senator Serrano, will be Senators Darrel Aubertine, Brian X. Foley, Craig Johnson, Elizabeth "Betty" Little, George Maziarz, Tom Morahan, Diane Savino, Jose M. Serrano, William T. Stachowski, Andrea Stewart-Cousins, and David J. Valesky.