

NEW YORK STATE SENATOR John A. DeFrancisco

## SENATE MAJORITY LEADER DEAN SKELOS APPOINTS SENATOR JOHN DeFRANCISCO TO CHAIR SENATE FINANCE COMMITTEE

JOHN A. DEFRANCISCO January 5, 2011
ISSUE: FINANCE

COMMITTEE: FINANCE

## SENATE MAJORITY LEADER DEAN SKELOS APPOINTS SENATOR JOHN DeFRANCISCO TO CHAIR SENATE FINANCE COMMITTEE

Senate Majority Members Named to Finance and Rules Committees

Senate Majority Leader Dean Skelos has appointed Senator John A. DeFrancisco (R-I-C, Syracuse) to serve as Chairman of the Senate Finance Committee.

"I am honored that I have been named Chairman of the Senate Finance Committee," said Senator DeFrancisco. "This is a very important position in the Senate and for our State, given the fiscal crisis our State is facing. I am anxious and excited to begin the hard work that is needed to remedy our State's financial situation. I am looking forward to working with Governor Cuomo toward the passage of a budget that serves the interests of all New Yorkers." "For the past two years, Senator DeFrancisco has done an outstanding job exposing the problems with the state budget, whether it was speaking out against tax and spending increases or criticizing the secretive budget process," Senator Skelos said. "I am very confident that he will do a tremendous job leading the Senate Finance Committee, working with our conference and all the members of the Senate, as well as the Assembly and Governor Cuomo, to meet the difficult budget challenges we are facing right now."

Senator Owen Johnson (R-C, Babylon) will serve as Vice Chairman of the Finance Committee.

As Chairman of the Finance Committee, Senator DeFrancisco will play a significant role in reviewing the Governor's proposed budget and developing the Senate Republican Conference's priorities for the State Budget. The Finance Committee will examine appropriations and disbursements for each agency included in the budget.

The Senate Finance Committee is also responsible for reviewing bills or resolutions that provide for an appropriation. In addition, the Finance Committee is responsible for reviewing nominations sent by the Governor for appointments, and moving the nominations to the full Senate.

In addition to Senators DeFrancisco and Johnson, other majority members appointed to the Finance Committee include: Senators Jim Alesi (R-C Perinton), John Bonacic (R-C-

I, Mount Hope), Hugh Farley (R-C, Schenectady), John Flanagan (R-C-I, East Northport), Charles Fuschillo (R, Merrick), Martin Golden (R-C, Brooklyn), Kemp Hannon (R-C, Garden City), Bill Larkin (R-C, Cornwall-on-Hudson), Ken Lavalle (R-C-I, Port Jefferson), Betty Little (R-C-I, Queensbury), Carl Marcellino (R, Syosset), Mike Nozzolio (R-C, Fayette), Joe Robach (R-C-I, Rochester), Steve Saland (R-C, Poughkeepsie), Jim Seward (R-C-I, Oneonta) and Senator Cathy Young (R-I-C, Olean).

## SENATE RULES COMMITTEE

Majority members of the Senate Rules Committee includes: Senate Majority Leader Dean Skelos (Chair), Senator Tom Libous (R-C-I, Binghamton) (Vice Chair), Senators Jim Alesi (R-C Perinton), Hugh Farley (R-C, Schenectady), Kemp Hannon (R-C, Garden City), Owen Johnson (R-C, Babylon), Bill Larkin (R-C, Cornwall-on-Hudson), Ken Lavalle (R-C-I, Port Jefferson), Carl Marcellino (R, Syosset), George Maziarz (R-C, Newfane), Mike Nozzolio (R-C, Fayette), Steve Saland (R-C, Poughkeepsie), and Jim Seward (R-C-I, Oneonta).