

NEW YORK STATE SENATOR

James L. Seward

## Seward Views Storm Damage

JAMES L. SEWARD August 31, 2011

ISSUE: LOCAL GOVERNMENT, TRANSPORTATION, FEDERAL PROGRAMS, GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS, NATIONAL GUARD



PRATTSVILLE, 08/31/11 – State Senator James L. Seward (R/C/I-Oneonta) today joined Governor Andrew Cuomo, Secretary of Homeland Security Janet Napolitano and FEMA Administrator Craig Fugate for a tour of flood ravaged portions of upstate New York.

"The devastation is utterly astonishing," said Senator Seward. "My heart goes out to the families and individuals who are demonstrating such amazing courage and fortitude in the face of this tragedy. "I also want to commend the first responders, National Guard members and local elected officials who have worked tirelessly around the clock to protect life and property before, during and after the storm."

Seward met with federal, state and local officials in Prattsville for an update on recovery efforts. He also applauded the federal disaster declaration issued for a number of upstate counties including Greene and Schoharie.

"Families and businesses in communities devastated by Irene are determined to rebuild and the federal disaster declaration is a helpful step in the ongoing recovery. I encourage those who have suffered damage to apply with FEMA as soon as possible to begin the assistance process," added Seward.

Those who have suffered damage are able to register with FEMA by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (1-800-621-3362). Registration forms and additional information can be found online at www.disasterassistance.gov.

Designations and types of assistance granted by the federal disaster declaration are as follows:

- Individual Assistance (Assistance to individuals and households): Albany, Delaware, Dutchess, Essex, Greene, Schenectady, Schoharie, and Ulster Counties;
- Public Assistance (Assistance for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities): Albany, Bronx, Clinton, Delaware, Dutchess, Essex, Greene, Montgomery, Nassau, New York, Queens, Rensselaer, Richmond, Rockland, Schoharie, Suffolk, Ulster, Warren, and Westchester Counties. Direct federal assistance is authorized;
- Hazard Mitigation Grant Program: (Assistance for actions taken to prevent or reduce long term risk to life and property from natural hazards): All counties in the State of New York are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program;
- Additional designations may be made at a later date after further evaluation.

The public assistance granted today will reimburse communities for the costs incurred for debris removal and emergency protective actions taken in response to Hurricane Irene.

The Individual Assistance program will provide the following aid to homeowners, renters and small businesses: the Individuals and Households Program, Crisis Counseling, Disaster Unemployment Assistance, USDA food coupons and distribution, USDA food commodities, Disaster Legal Services, the Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, and Small Business Administration disaster loans.

-30-