

NEW YORK STATE SENATOR

Hugh T. Farley

Senator Farley Salutes United States Presidents

HUGH T. FARLEY February 12, 2015



Happy Birthday, President Lincoln! Today, Feb. 12th, is the celebration of Abraham Lincoln's birthday as well as his years as President of this Nation. Presidents' Day, honoring him and all our Presidents, is Monday, Feb. 16th.

Families may want to visit the Hall of Governors at the State Capitol in Albany to learn more about Presidential connections to New York State. Martin Van Buren, Millard Fillmore, Chester Arthur, Grover Cleveland, Theodore Roosevelt and Franklin D. Roosevelt were all New Yorkers who became President. Presidents Van Buren, Cleveland and both Roosevelts had each served as Governor of New York.

The Hall of Governors, located on the second floor of the State Capitol, holds portraits of the past governors of New York State, including the ones who went on to be President of the United States. The portraits are displayed chronologically and biographies of each pictured governor were placed beneath each portrait.

The website http://hallofgovernors.ny.gov provides historical documentation and also offers an online tour of the Hall of Governors. Web visitors can also listen to highlights from speeches and view writings of former governors.

Visitors can take self-guided tours on weekdays when the buildings at the Empire State Plaza are open. They can also schedule tours through the Office of General Services at 474-2418.

The following is some Presidential facts and trivia as a salute to Presidents' Day.

* February is considered the month for presidents because two of the great Presidents from the early years of our Nation's history were born then. Abraham Lincoln, the sixteenth President of the United States and the man who helped our Nation through the Civil War, and George Washington, the first President and the man who helped our struggling Nation gain its independence, were born on February 12th and February 22nd, respectively. Incidentally, President Ronald Reagan's birthday was also in February – February 6, 1911.

* John Quincy Adams, the sixth President of the United States, was the first President who was the son of a President. His father, John Adams, was the second President of this Nation. The 43rd President, George Walker Bush, was also a son of a President, George Herbert Walker Bush (41st President). * Benjamin Harrison, the 23rd President, was the grandson of our ninth President, William Henry Harrison.

* Theodore Roosevelt, the 26th President of the United States, and Franklin Delano Roosevelt, No. 32 on the list, were cousins.

* Grover Cleveland was elected President in 1884 and took office in 1885. After four years at the post, he lost the following election to Benjamin Harrison. The two went head-to-head again in 1892, and this time, Cleveland became the winner and resumed the Presidency in 1893.

* Most people think John Fitzgerald Kennedy was the youngest President in our history. This is partially true. At age 44, he was the youngest person to be elected President. Theodore Roosevelt, at age 43, was the youngest President to take the oath of office. When William McKinley was assassinated in 1901, Vice President Roosevelt became the leader of this Nation. He was subsequently elected in his own right in 1904.

The following is a list of the presidents of the United States:

1. George Washington, 1789-1797

2. John Adams, 1797-1801

3. Thomas Jefferson, 1801-1809

4. James Madison, 1809-1817

5. James Monroe, 1817-1825

6. John Quincy Adams, 1825-1829

7. Andrew Jackson, 1829-1837

8. Martin Van Buren, 1837-1841

9. William Henry Harrison, 1841

10. John Tyler, 1841-1845

11. James Knox Polk, 1845-1849

12. Zachary Taylor, 1849-1850

13. Millard Fillmore, 1850-1853

14. Franklin Pierce, 1853-1857

15. James Buchanan, 1857-1861

16. Abraham Lincoln, 1861-1865

17. Andrew Johnson, 1865-1869

18. Ulysses Simpson Grant, 1869-1877

19. Rutherford Birchard Hayes, 1877-1881

20. James Abram Garfield, 1881

21. Chester Alan Arthur, 1881-1885

22. Grover Cleveland, 1885-1889

23. Benjamin Harrison, 1889-1893

24. Grover Cleveland, 1893-1897

25. William McKinley, 1897-1901

26. Theodore Roosevelt, 1901-1909

27. William Howard Taft, 1909-1913

28. Woodrow Wilson, 1913 - 1921

29. Warren Gamaliel Harding, 1921-1923

30. Calvin Coolidge, 1923-1929

31. Herbert Clark Hoover, 1929-1933

32. Franklin Delano Roosevelt, 1933-1945

33. Harry S. Truman, 1945-1953

34. Dwight David Eisenhower, 1953-1961

35. John Fitzgerald Kennedy, 1961-1963

36. Lyndon Baines Johnson, 1963-1969

37. Richard Milhous Nixon, 1969-1974

38. Gerald Rudolph Ford, 1974-1977

39. James Earl Carter, Jr. 1977-1981

40. Ronald Wilson Reagan, 1981-1989

- 41. George Herbert Walker Bush, 1989-1993
- 42. William Jefferson Clinton, 1993-2001
- 43. George Walker Bush, 2001-2009
- 44. Barack Hussein Obama, 2009 Current