

NEW YORK STATE SENATOR John A. DeFrancisco

Senator DeFrancisco Holds 2015 Teachers of Excellence Ceremony

JOHN A. DEFRANCISCO May 8, 2015



State Senator John A. DeFrancisco held his second annual Teachers Of Excellence awards program on May 7, 2015, at Solvay Middle School. More than 30 educators from throughout Onondaga County were honored for their outstanding efforts to help children learn during the 2014-15 school year. They were nominated by students, school administrators, faculty and staff.

"Teachers are instrumental in enabling our youth to succeed in life," said Senator DeFrancisco. "I am very pleased to recognize those dedicated educators within my district, who consistently go above and beyond to educate, mentor and inspire their students."

The 2015 Teachers of Excellence honorees are listed in alphabetical order of schools:

Sharon Bearer, Bishop Grimes High School; Beth Lozier, Camillus Middle School; Katrina Ercole, Driver Middle School; Susan Deegan, East Hill Elementary School; Pamela Herrington, East Syracuse-Minoa High School; Kathy DeParde, East Syracuse-Minoa High School; Teri Hinkle, Jamesville Elementary School; Laura Dietz, Jamesville-DeWitt Middle School; Gayle McCabe, Jordan-Elbridge High School; Emily Rumpf, Jordan-Elbridge High School; Theresa Bondgren, Jordan-Elbridge High School; Mindy Smart, Jordan-Elbridge High School; Maggie Estlinbaum, Jordan-Elbridge High School; Karen Hourigan, Jordan-Elbridge High School; Jason Kufs, Jordan-Elbridge High School; David Chartrand, Liverpool High School; Joan Koral, Liverpool High School; Chris Ball, Liverpool High School; Kevin Moquin, Long Branch Elementary; Eric Sharpsteen, Onondaga Junior/Senior High School; Lisa Sammon, Onondaga Hill Middle School; Jennifer Malcomb, Roxboro Road Middle School; Catherine Budmen, Soule Road Elementary; Theresa Correll, Soule Road Middle School; Maureen Eno, Soule Road Elementary; Stephen Shoults, Stonehedge Elementary, Margaret Barbuto, Stonehedge Elementary; Katherine St. Dennis, Solvay High School; Karen Schoonover, Solvay Middle School; Allison Szatanek, Solvay Elementary School; Megan Ames, Tecumseh Elementary School; Dana Dietz, Tecumseh Elementary; Steve Dunham, West Genesee Middle School; and Colleen Barba, West Genesee High School.

In recognition of their professional accomplishments, Senator DeFrancisco presented all of the honorees with a New York State Senate Teachers of Excellence certificate and a "Golden Apple" pin. For more information on the Teachers of Excellence program, please visit defrancisco.nysenate.gov. Senator DeFrancisco's event was held during National Teacher Appreciation Week.