

NEW YORK STATE SENATOR

Senator Farley Salutes Niskayuna Boys Varsity Lacrosse Team

HUGH T. FARLEY June 16, 2015



State Senator Hugh T. Farley (R, C, I – Schenectady) had the pleasure of meeting the Niskayuna Boys Varsity Lacrosse Team on June 15th when they came to Capitol to be honored in the Senate Chamber. The Senator spoke to them about their winning the 2015 New York State Class A Lacrosse Championship.

The New York State Senate resolution honoring the team will be passed by the Senate in Sesson on June 16th.

The resolution (Number 2921) is as follows:

Honoring Niskayuna Boys Varsity Lacrosse Team Upon the Occasion of Capturing the 2015 New York State Class A Lacrosse Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, a unified goal and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of sportsmanship, teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, The State of New York is justly proud to congratulate the Niskayuna Boys Varsity Lacrosse Team and Coach Mike Vorgang upon the occasion of capturing the 2015 New York State Class A Lacrosse Championship on Saturday, June 6, 2015, at Vestal High School in Vestal, New York; and

WHEREAS, Not only is this historic 13-10 title-game victory over West Genesee High School (18-3) the first-ever New York State lacrosse title for the Niskayuna Boys Varsity Team, but it is the first State Championship for any Section II team; and

WHEREAS, The team's overall record of 21-2 is outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by the Silver Warriors is due in great part to the efforts of Coach Mike Vorgang, a skilled and inspirational tutor, respected for his ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Niskayuna High School Boys Varsity Lacrosse Team, from the opening game of the season to participation in the championship, were a brotherhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the Niskayuna High School Boys Varsity Lacrosse Team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, Coach Mike Vorgang has done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the team members toward their goals; and

WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Coach Mike Vorgang and these outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; and

WHEREAS, The State of New York recognizes the Niskayuna High School Boys Varsity Lacrosse Team; its members: Aidan Byrne, Jack Lynch, Evan Maloney, Jake Shephard, Anthony Rubino, Logan Michalisin, Will Malerk, Aidan O'Brien, Austin Reihs, Gallagher Gregory, John Prendergast, Jarrett Oden-Smith, Nick Testa, Tyler Gregory, Patrick Holmes, Sam Assini, Lucas Quinn, Eoghan Sweeney, Michael Doxie, Dylan Pantalone, Jon Pfohl, James Sexton, William Braungart, Connor Wolff, Mike Perrin, Alexander Izzo, Ryan Stewart, Ethan Szemansco, Justin Wise, Ryan Sitterly, Spencer Napolitano, Nicholas Horne, and Jake Miller; Coach Mike Vorgang, and Assistant Coaches Chris DeLano, PJ Williams, and Brad Hester upon the occasion of capturing the New York State Class A Lacrosse Championship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That as a duly elected member of the New York State Senate, I take this opportunity to congratulate the Niskayuna Boys Varsity Lacrosse Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2015 New York State Class A Lacrosse Championship and wish its members continued success.