2015-J3279

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the East Syracuse Minoa Central School District Marching Band upon the occasion of capturing First Place in the Small School 1 Class at the 2015 New York State Field Band Conference Championships

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize and commend those dedicated and distinguished teams that are committed to the pursuit of excellence and that bring great pride to the citizens of New York State; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its longstanding traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the East Syracuse Minoa Central School District Marching Band upon the occasion of capturing First Place in the Small School 1 Class at the 2015 New York State Field Band Conference Championships; and WHEREAS, The East Syracuse Minoa Marching Band also earned Best Visual Performance, Best Color Guard and 3rd in their class at the 38th Annual James Madison University Parade of Champions in Virginia earlier in the season; and

WHEREAS, In preparation of state competition, members of the East Syracuse Minoa Central School District Marching Band rehearsed for months, logging countless hours of practice to learn new music charts and perfect their skills; and

WHEREAS, At the 42nd Annual New York State Field Band Conference Championship, held on November 1, 2015, at the Syracuse University Carrier Dome, Syracuse, New York, the East Syracuse Minoa Central School District Marching Band swept the Small School 1 Class to secure the Championship; and

WHEREAS, It is a remarkable achievement to win first place in a state competition by defeating five other schools from across the State of New

York; and

WHEREAS, No marching band can succeed without outstanding talent throughout its entire roster; such was the case for the 2015 East Syracuse Minoa Central School District Marching Band whose members include: Kaeli Agans, Katrina Agans, Dalton Aird, Jillian Anderson, Sean Anderson, Emily Backus, Julia Barnwell, Trace Beaulieu, Mackenzie Bourdon, Sara Bourdon, Daniel Brabham, Sarah Brabham, Kylee Brady, Andrew Brown, Brian Brown, Elijah Buck, Jourdyn Buck, Tobias Buecheler, America Carhart, Sam Carlin, MacKenzie Carr, Samantha Carr, Matt Castrello, Cassianne Cavallaro, Ian Cavanaugh, Matthew Choi, Zachary Cook, Pat Corbett, Emma Coupe, Shelby Crossman, Aline Cunia, Dean Cunningham, Madalynn Davis, LJ DiBello, Simon Dorey, Cheyenne Dunn, Trinity Dzwell, Billy Evans, Matthew Farnsworth, Brianna Farr, Hannah Fogg, Dylan Gallardo, Elizabeth Green, Matt Green, Logan Grevelding, Lucy Hager, Peter Hager, Ben Haines, Victoria Hamilton, Britney Hanreck, Nicole Hilleges, Benjamin Houseman, Alanna Keech, Jacob Kessler, Jacob Kindon, John Kipping, Thomas Kipping, Victoria Kipping, Christina Kirkgasser, Katherine Kirkgasser, Abigail Koukides, Noah Labbate, Sierra Lear, Matt Legare, Paul Levy, Leah Longo, Kenny MacMaster, Jarrett McDonald, Brianna Miller, Catie Mong, Meg Mong, Erin Mullen, Kimmie Murphy, Caley Prego, Francesca Rodolico, Abigail Rowe, Juliana Rudd, Kristalia Slater, Amanda Spagnola, Aaron Stoner-Hilleges, McKayla SurEssi, and Caleb Wilkinson; and

WHEREAS, The success of the East Syracuse Minoa Central School District Marching Band is due in great part to the efforts of Director Gibs Flock, and his outstanding staff including: Chuck Penfield, Bryan Dunlap, Tom Revere, Irene Fiesinger, Noel Bottoms, Marcie DeRito, Tanya Thomas, Melody Blake, Joe Wormworth, Brandon Morse, Mike Lukas, Kate

Beebe, Kurt Vandawalker, Adam Flock, Courtney Legare, Dylan Aird, Ted Mascari, Mark Lortz, and Bobby Jones; the band was also supported by friends, family members and the community-at-large; and WHEREAS, Members of the East Syracuse Minoa Central School District Marching Band, individually and collectively, exhibited competence, skill and good sportsmanship while demonstrating they have an outstanding combination of talent and character; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the East Syracuse Minoa Central School District Marching Band upon the occasion of capturing First Place in the Small School 1 Class at the 2015 New York State Field Band Conference Championships; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to members of the East Syracuse Minoa Central School District Marching Band, Band Director Gibs Flock, and his aforementioned staff.