2015-J4522

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION commemorating the 200th Anniversary of Oswego County, New York, in March of 2016

WHEREAS, It is the intent of this Legislative Body to honor and recognize the distinguished histories of communities across this great Empire State, and to celebrate the people and places that make these communities strong; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its longstanding traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to commemorate the 200th Anniversary of Oswego County, New York, in March of 2016; and

WHEREAS, This momentous occasion will be celebrated with a myriad of public Bicentennial events throughout 2016; and

WHEREAS, For the past 200 years, Oswego County has proudly stood as a close-knit, safe and vibrant community, created in 1816, out of portions of Onondaga and Oneida counties and building itself along the shores of the Salmon River, Oswego River and Oneida Lake; and

WHEREAS, The Oswego County name is derived from a Mohawk language word meaning "the outpouring", and referring to the mouth of the Oswego River; and

WHEREAS, With a 2010 Census population of just over 122,000, Oswego County is comprised of 22 towns, two cities, and 10 villages with a total area of approximately 1,312 square miles; it was once governed by a Board of Supervisors and is currently governed by a County Legislature; and

WHEREAS, Oswego County includes the eastern shore of Lake Ontario, part of the Tug Hill Plateau, and the Salmon River Falls, a 110-foot waterfall, which is a popular sightseeing destination in the northeastern portion of the county, as well as two harbors, the Oswego Harbor at

the mouth of the Oswego River, and Port Ontario on the Salmon River, and includes the first major port of call on the Great Lakes, the Port of Oswego Authority dock, and the first freshwater port in the United States; and

WHEREAS, Oswego County has played a pivotal role in a number of regional and national historic events as the battleground where significant conflicts during the War of 1812 occurred, the location of 35 Underground Railroad sites, and the only World War II Holocaust refugee center in the United States; and

WHEREAS, Not only is Oswego County the location of numerous historical events, it is also home to many notable individuals, including Mayor of Cleveland, Ned Sherman, elected in 1878, one of the first African-American mayors in New York State, and a dozen Congressional Medal of Honor Recipients, including Dr. Mary Edwards Walker, the only woman ever to receive the Congressional Medal of Honor; and

WHEREAS, Its beautiful location, which includes the Oswego River and Oswego Falls, served as the backdrop of James Fenimore Cooper's "The Pathfinder"; and

WHEREAS, Remaining fruitful over the ebb and flow of decades of growth and change, Oswego County continues its commitment to enhancing the quality of life of its citizens, ensuring a positive business, institutional and educational climate, and providing all essential services; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to commemorate the 200th Anniversary of Oswego County in March of 2016, and to recognize the significant role the county plays in the life of the community of the State of New York; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to Kevin Gardner, Chairman of the Oswego County Legislature.