2017-J234

Senate Resolution No. 234

BY: Senator AKSHAR

RECOGNIZING the Newark Valley High School Varsity
Football Team, Head Coach Brian Sherwood and school
officials for an outstanding season and to
congratulate them for capturing the Class C NYSPHSAA
Football Championship

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after honors in high school sports; this legislative body commends rare athletic achievements, and gives special honor and commendation to those athletic teams who pursue such excellence that they become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, The Newark Valley High School Varsity Football Team earned a berth in the 2016 State High School Class C Championship with a

WHEREAS, To the cheers of their exuberant fans, on Friday, November 25, 2016, the Newark Valley High School Varsity Football Team defeated Ogdensburg Free Academy in a decisive 39-34 victory to claim the Class C NYSPHSAA Football Championship; and

WHEREAS, Decorated in red and white, family, friends and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Newark Valley Cardinals throughout this journey as they ended their impressive season; and

WHEREAS, In a sport which demands strength, speed and agility, Head Coach Brian Sherwood and his skilled coaching staff maximized their own athletic ability and training to hone a championship team and teach these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable through life both on and off the field; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Brian Sherwood and the outstanding athletes on the Newark Valley High School Varsity Football Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Newark Valley High School Varsity Football Team, its members: Tyler Beebe, Jake Payne, Chad Wright, Dakota Frank, David Crow, Brett Stewart, A.J. Coleman, Damon Roselez, Collen Hills, Codi Boda, Justin Shutts, Ryan Crispell, Shawn Key, Justin Post, Quartus Steika,

Patrick Stewart, Thomas Davey, Shayne Bickham, Hunter Hoffmier, Derek Short, Trevor Gerdus, Cody Hatton, Mike Walburn, Lane Carrier, Hendrix Welful, Dale Folejewski, Jesse Brito, Trentyn Rupurt, Evan Engelhard,
Aaron Gorsline, Darin Walker, Caden Bennett, Josh Post, Kyle Pratt, Reid
Robinson and Justin Demmer, along with Head Coach Brian Sherwood,
Assistant Coaches Mike Stauter, RJ Novi, Ed Pratt and Greg Schweiger,
and Coordinators Scott Wandell and Ted Hardenstine on their outstanding
season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the school officials, members of the Newark Valley High School Varsity Football Team and the aforementioned coaches.