Senate Resolution No. 815

**BY: Senator MARCHIONE** 

HONORING Saratoga Springs upon the occasion of celebrating its 50th Flag Day Parade on June 10, 2017

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to honor Saratoga Springs upon the occasion of celebrating its 50th Flag Day Parade on June 10, 2017; and

WHEREAS, The American Flag, symbol of the Republic for 239 years, has undergone many changes over its history; the current 50-star version was raised for the first time officially at 12:01 a.m., July 4, 1960, at Fort McHenry National Monument in Baltimore, Maryland, heralding the admission of our 50th state, Hawaii; and

WHEREAS, The first colonial flag to represent all the colonies is believed to have been raised on Prospect Hill in Boston at the Battle of Bunker Hill; this flag, "the Continental Colors" or "the Great Union flag," bore the cross of the British flag in the upper left corner with 13 alternating red and white stripes extending horizontally; and

WHEREAS, The "Stars and Stripes" originated as the result of a resolution offered by the Marine Committee of the second Continental Congress at Philadelphia, and adopted on June 14, 1777; it read as follows:

RESOLVED: "that the flag of the United States be thirteen stripes, alternate red and white; that the union be thirteen stars, white in a blue field, representing a new constellation"; and

WHEREAS, The Great State of New York has a unique connection to the American Flag because it was flown for the first time on August 3, 1777, at Fort Stanwix, in the present-day City of Rome; and "Old Glory" was first flown "under fire" three days later, on August 6, 1777, at the Battle of Oriskany; that battle being a decisive victory for the American Revolutionaries, stopping the British occupation of the New York Colony in an attempt to divide the Union; and

WHEREAS, The American Flag has had many charming legends attached to it over the years, including the story that the first flag was sewn by Mrs. Betsy Ross in June, 1776, at the request of a committee composed of George Washington, Robert Morris and George Ross; this story was first made public in 1870, by a grandson of Mrs. Ross; in addition, it is reputed that the flag was designed by Francis Hopkinson, but when he attempted to have Congress remunerate him for his services in 1781, they refused; and, it is also said that the flag was first called "Old Glory" by William Driver, a sea captain from Salem, Massachusetts, who raised the flag on his brig, the "Charles Doggett", in 1824; and

WHEREAS, Wherever and whenever it is displayed, the first requirement for flying the flag is that it be flown with respect; it should only be flown in good weather, on all holidays and special occasions, and on official buildings such as schools when they are in session, post offices, courthouses and the like; it should generally be

flown from sunrise to sunset and at full staff; if it is displayed at night, it should be properly illuminated; and, on Memorial Day it should be flown at half-staff until noon and then at full staff; and WHEREAS, The flag of the United States has inspired us in battle, reassured us in times of peace, and comforted us at moments of great national grief; and

WHEREAS, Flag Day was first celebrated in 1877, the centennial of the U.S. flag's existence; and

WHEREAS, Flag Day was officially established by a proclamation of President Woodrow Wilson on May 30, 1916; while Flag Day was celebrated in various communities after Wilson's proclamation, it was not until August 3, 1949, that President Harry S. Truman signed an Act of Congress designating June 14th each year as Flag Day; and

WHEREAS, In the words of President Wilson, "This flag which we honor and under which we serve, is the emblem of our unity, our power, our thought, and purpose as a nation. It has no other character than that which we give it from generation to generation. The choices are ours."; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to honor Saratoga Springs upon the occasion of celebrating its 50th Flag Day Parade on June 10, 2017; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to Joanne D. Yepsen, Mayor, Saratoga Springs, New York.