Senate Resolution No. 1406

BY: Senator KENNEDY

CONGRATULATING the Buffalo Beauts Hockey Team upon the occasion of capturing the National Women's Hockey League 2017 Isobel Cup

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to pay tribute to those exemplary athletes and organizations that excel in professional athletics, distinguishing themselves through notable achievements and representing the great Empire State with pride and determination; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Buffalo Beauts Hockey Team upon the occasion of capturing the National Women's Hockey League 2017 Isobel Cup on Sunday, March 19, 2017, at the Tsongas Center in Lowell, Massachusetts; and

WHEREAS, Founded in 2015, the National Women's Hockey League (NWHL) is the first professional women's hockey league in North America; it provides funding for hockey education, while providing opportunities to increase women's participation in hockey throughout the country as well as leverage the sport of hockey to advance the lives of women and teach the core values of hockey; and

WHEREAS, Coming back from a close loss in the League's inaugural season the Buffalo Beauts defeated the Boston Pride in an exciting 3-2

victory to capture the Isobel Cup, winning their first title; and

WHEREAS, This auspicious title is the first professional sports championship that Buffalo, New York, has seen in over a decade, a historic championship victory the entire community will truly savor; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by the Buffalo Beauts Hockey Team is due in great part to the efforts of Coaches Craig Muni and Ric Seiling, both skilled and inspirational tutors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Buffalo Beauts Hockey Team, from the opening game of the season to their outstanding win in the Isobel Cup Championship, were a sisterhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, and of honor, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Sports competitions instill the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment; Coaches Craig Muni and Ric Seiling and the Buffalo Beauts Hockey Team's outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their organization; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Buffalo Beauts Hockey Team: Paige Harrington, Kelley Steadman, Emily Janiga, Ashley Vesci, Emily Pfalzer, Kristina Lavoie, Megan Bozek, Sarah Casorso, Lisa Chesson, Hayley Scamurra, Anne Schleper, Jordyn Burns, Devon Skeats, Kayla Parsons, Corinne Buie, Harrison Browne, Jacquie Greco, Shiann Darkangelo, Amanda

Leveille, Brianne McLaughlin, Kelsey Neumann, Kourtney Kunichika, and Morgan Beikirich and Coaches Craig Muni and Ric Seiling on their outstanding season; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Buffalo Beauts Hockey Team and to Coaches Craig Muni and Ric Seiling.