2017-K1020

Assembly Resolution No. 1020

BY: M. of A. Palmesano

COMMEMORATING the 200th Anniversary of the first meeting in the Town of Milo, New York

WHEREAS, It is the intent of this Legislative Body to honor and commemorate the distinguished histories of the communities which comprise the noble body of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to commemorate the 200th Anniversary of the first meeting in the Town of Milo, in Yates County, New York; and

WHEREAS, This auspicious occasion has begun with a proclamation declaring Saturday, April 7, 2018, as a day of recognition and celebration; throughout the year, individuals will present parts of Milo's remarkable history at each of the remaining Town Board meetings to keep such memories alive; and

WHEREAS, Followers of the Universal Friend, Jemima Wilkinson, played an important role in the history of Milo, where the Keuka Outlet powered the birth of industry in the area; Jemima Wilkinson was a charismatic American Quaker and evangelist, who preached to followers who formed the Society of Universal Friends; and WHEREAS, In 1790, this group moved to western New York, to settle on land newly purchased from the dispossessed Seneca people; they founded Jerusalem, New York, which was renamed Penn Yan; and

WHEREAS, As land became available following the Revolutionary War, early settlers from Pennsylvania and New England migrated to the area; and

WHEREAS, In the late 1780s, Richard Smith and two partners built the first mill west of Seneca Lake at what is now called the Seneca Millsite; and

WHEREAS, According to Lewis Cass Aldrich's history of Yates County, the first deed in the area that became the Town of Milo was dated January 16, 1789; 11 years later, the first wood frame house in Penn Yan was built by Abraham Wagener; and

WHEREAS, Much of the development which followed occurred along the Keuka Outlet as water-powered mills processed locally grown raw materials such as corn, wheat, timber, flaxseed and wool; and

WHEREAS, As advances in transportation, including the Crooked Lake Canal followed by Fall Brook Railway, took place in the 1800s, Penn Yan and the area continued to prosper; and

WHEREAS, The Society of Universal Friends and other settlers realized an organized community required its own government; in 1818, the Town of Milo was founded from part of the Town of Benton, and was

comprised of 36 square miles bordered by Seneca and Keuka Lakes, and all of the Keuka Lake Outlet; and

WHEREAS, The first town meeting was held on Tuesday, April 7, 1818, at Nichols Corners, now called Milo Center, at the house of Isaac Nichols, where the first town officers were elected: Avery Smith, Supervisor; Charles Roberts, Town Clerk; George I. Remer, Collector; Benedict Robinson, George Nichols, and George Youns, Assessors; Richard Henderson and Roger Sutherland, Overseers of the Poor; Isaac Hedges, David Briggs, and Solomon Finch, Commissioners of Highways; Isaac Nichols, Thomas Hathaway, and Allen Vorce, School Commissioners; Samuel Henderson, Joel Gillette, John Randolph, James N. Edmondson, Peter Young, and Luther Sisson, School Inspectors; George I. Remer, Stephen Youngs, David J. Bennett, and Walter Wolcott, Constables; and

WHEREAS, By 1820, the population consisted of approximately 1,612 people; when Yates County was formed in 1823, Milo became part of the new county; and

WHEREAS, Many colorful characters and influential leaders are a vital part of the Town's history; Jimmy Cole, whose circus was based near Mays Mills, and Daisy Marquis Jones, whose estate funds a foundation which supports medical and community projects, were both residents of Milo; and

WHEREAS, Today, over 7,000 residents live in the Town of Milo which includes most of the village of Penn Yan in addition to smaller hamlets with their own identities; the Town occupies 48 square miles, and borders the Towns of Benton, Torrey, Jerusalem, Barrington and Starkey; and

WHEREAS, The Town of Milo is currently governed by: Supervisor, Leslie Church; Town Council members, Dale Hallings (Deputy Supervisor), Arden Sorensen Jr., Gene Spanneut, and Jim Harris; Town Clerk/Tax Collector, Pat Christensen; Highway Superintendent, Lance Yonge; Code Enforcement Officer, Anthony Validzic; Assessor, Patrick Grimaldi; Justice, Michael Christensen; and Historian, Frances Dumas; and

WHEREAS, Remaining fruitful over the ebb and flow of decades of growth and change, the Town of Milo continues its commitment to enhancing the quality of life of its citizens, ensuring a positive business, institutional and educational climate, and providing all essential services; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to commemorate the 200th Anniversary of the first meeting in the Town of Milo, New York, recognizing the significance of the role it continues to play in the life of the community of the State of New York; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to Leslie Church, Supervisor, Town of Milo.