Senate Resolution No. 5246

BY: Senator FLANAGAN

HONORING the hard work, dedication and commitment of the members of the New York State Legislative Messenger Service

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to honor individuals who have faithfully served the people and the government of the State of New York with dedication and conscientious service; and

WHEREAS, The New York State Legislative Messenger Service was founded in 1973 as an avenue to provide job training and opportunities to individuals with a disability; emphasis is placed on understanding and amplifying an individual's strengths while providing support, training and structure to lessen any barriers created by their disability; and

WHEREAS, This outstanding service plays a very important role in expediting the work of the New York State Legislature; and

WHEREAS, Technology has reshaped how the Legislative Messenger Service performs their job with introduction of online ordering and the integration of tablets in 2015, which are being used by over 95% of the staff daily; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to honor the hard

work, dedication and commitment of the members of the New York State Legislative Messenger Service; and

WHEREAS, For more than four decades, the New York State Legislative Messenger Service, located in the Legislative Office Building, has provided a communications network throughout the Empire State Plaza and neighboring state buildings for Senate and Assembly legislators and their staffs; and

WHEREAS, The dedicated members of the New York State Legislative Messenger Service can always be relied on to provide swift and dependable service; and

WHEREAS, Under the able leadership of Kevin Kather, Director, and Beth Bonesteel, Assistant Director, the members of the New York State Legislative Messenger Service, whom we see hurrying about their rounds, include: Brian Abreu, Greta Amodeo, Michael Cohen, William Crowe, Michelle Daly, Adam Denenberg, Robert DeSieno, Sharon Forkeutis, Marcus Gagnon, William Gerard, Katherine Griffin, Kennasha Hardy, Kimberly Lapp, Barbara McDonald, Kathy O'Brien, Patrick O'Hara, Kadija Oliver, Francis Rotundo, Kathleen Schleich, Mollie Shook, Kellsey Wickham, Barbara Wojtowicz, and Valerie Zeh; and

WHEREAS, An apprenticeship was created in 2012 to provide opportunities for individuals with disabilities who are eager to gain professional employment experience; this year's apprentices include: Molly Fortin, Allen Howard, and Jude Killar; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is pleased to recognize and pay just tribute to the members of the New York State Legislative Messenger Service, individuals who embody the true American spirit, demonstrating personal determination and significantly contributing to the workings of the New York State Legislature; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to honor the hard work, dedication and commitment of the members of the New York State Legislative Messenger Service; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the New York State Legislative Messenger Service, and the aforementioned apprentices.