## 2019-J198

Senate Resolution No. 198

**BY: Senator YOUNG** 

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Jamestown High School Marching Band upon the occasion of winning the 2018 Large School Division 2 New York State Field Band Conference Championship on October 28, 2018

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize the dedication and commitment of our young people who distinguish themselves through excellence in musical competition; and

WHEREAS, Music competition provides an opportunity for students to exhibit their practical skills to an audience, thereby giving them a sense of pride in their hard work and efforts; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Jamestown High School Marching Band upon the occasion of winning their third 2018 Large School Division 2 New York State Field Band Conference Championship in five years; and

WHEREAS, Consisting of 108 members from grades 8-12, and a color guard, the Jamestown High School Marching Band traveled to the Carrier Dome in Syracuse, New York, on Sunday, October 28, to capture this monumental victory; and WHEREAS, When it was time to perform "Canon", each and every member of the Jamestown High School Marching Band had in mind the goal of representing themselves, their school and their community by performing with the highest standard of excellence; and

WHEREAS, The Red Raiders faced stiff competition from nine other schools in their class to win the Championship with a season best score of 89.900, beating the tied second place teams by a very close margin; and

WHEREAS, No marching band can succeed without outstanding talent throughout its entire roster; such was the case for the 2018 Jamestown High School Marching Band whose members include: Austin Aldrich, Erika Amidon, Beck Anderson, Jacob Anderson, Taylor Austin, Cameron Avery, Skyela Banse-Fay, Kayden Bates, Michael Bennett, Hanna Bigelow, Cora Blodien, Karlie Blodien, Max Bollman, Leah Boyd, Ayrianna Brady, Jordan Braymiller, Allie Brown, Natalie Carlson, Adam Chang, Maisy Chang, Kyle Christensen, Aden Clark, Liam Conroe, Evan Corey, Ryan Corey, Ellen Cross, Herivette DeJesus, Madeline DeJoy, Vanessa DeStevens, Steven Dewey, Kregan Duffee, Baylin Dunlap, Grayson Dunlap, Darren Dunn, Justice Edens, Nevaeh Erickson, Katie Falkowski, Bradley Galeazzo, Alex Genco, Sadie Golden, Courtney Grey, Ethan Haight, Emily Hall, Logan Hayes, Savannah Hazelton, Megan Higbee, Kathryn Holtz, Casandra Howland, Alayna Johnson, Delia Johnson, Dylan Johnson, Caleb Kindberg, Andrew Laurin, Rachel Lemke, Ryan Lemke, Jena Luce, Kylie Luce, Dylan Lydell, Elsa McAvoy, Joshua McEntire, Lilly Melguist, Caleb Micciche, Meghan Mistretta, Alice Moffatt, Alle Moss, Lilly Moss, Sydney Moss, Kendra Nickerson, Abbey Nordwall, Greta Nordwall, Autumn Osborne, Carley

Pangborn, Ashley Patch, Abby Peterson, Chad Peterson, Sarah Pillittieri, Matthew Ramirez, Ryan Restivo, Jasmine Rollinger, Abigail Roof, Marissa Rosado, Kylee Schrader, Jesse Schultz, Charles Sisson, Jocelyn Smith, Kianna Smith, Tanisha Smith, Brooke Soldano, Katie Starks, Nolan Stevenson, Eylessia Stilson, Colin Swindell, Shelby Swindell, Damon Tanner, Allison Tilburg, Morgan Torrey, Brennah Trace, Julie Turk, Madison Ventura, August Viele, Dawnelle Walter, Adley Warner, Carley Westphal, Caley Wiltsie, Jaden Yanik and Juliana Yanik; and

WHEREAS, It should be further noted that excellence in field band is possible only through vigorous practice and discipline, habits that will guide these young musicians to a lifetime of success in the musical field or other career fields; and

WHEREAS, The Jamestown High School Marching Band's achievements stand as a proud testament to the leadership of Director, Meghan Murray; Assistant Director, Marc Lentsch; Music Directors, Norm Lydell, Carrie Pawelski, and Rachel Selice; Marching Instructors, Gary Kindberg and Kathy Brunco; Percussion Instructors, Rob Meger, Ron Miller, Matt Clark, Bob Mongillo and Tyler Avnet; and Color Guard Instructors, Kaitlyn Whitney, Mike Kearns and Mark Kearns; the hard work of its members and the dedication of its parents, teachers, administration and community-at-large, illustrating the spirit of excellence and achievement which is the school's hallmark and tradition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to honor the members of the Jamestown High School Marching Band, who positively represent their school, who are role models to their classmates, who exemplify the marching band's goal of continued excellence, and who have brought great pride to their community; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Jamestown High School Marching Band; Meghan Murray, Band Director; and her aforementioned staff.