2019-J531

Senate Resolution No. 531

BY: Senator YOUNG

CONGRATULATING the Clymer/Sherman/Panama Football
Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2018
NYSPHSAA Class D Football Championship on November
23, 2018

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Clymer/Sherman/Panama Football Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2018 NYSPHSAA Class D Football Championship on Friday, November 23, 2018, at the Carrier Dome in Syracuse, New York; to the praise and applause of their excited fans, the Wolfpack defeated Moriah Central School in a decisive 26-6 victory to win their first Championship; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of black, family,

friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Wolfpack throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive 13-0 overall record; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as football, which demands athletic prowess, speed and agility, Head Coach Ty Harper, Assistant Coach Chris Payne, and Special Teams Coordinator Dave Bodamer worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the field; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Ty Harper and all of the outstanding athletes on the Clymer/Sherman/Panama Football Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Clymer/Sherman/Panama Football Team: Bishop Kopta, Cameron Barmore, Hunter Frary, Collin Ramsey, Michael Beatman, Owen Gratto, Chance Meeder, Matthew White, Luke Lundeen, Matthew Apthorpe, Gerrit Hinsdale, Braden Cook, Hunter Cooper, Mitchell Hovey, Robert Overton, Zeph Cochran, John Swabik, Derek Ecklund, Conner Cooper, Jordan Svetz, Garrett McClelland, Garrett Fransen, Connor Hickman, Brady Duryee, Jake Carlson, Jevan Newman, Landen Swan, Sally Watson, Elliot Jackson, Mason Bestine, Mitch Rockey, Reece Bates, Jordan Smouse, Steven Ryan, Alex Dunnewold, Hunter Kochanowski, Lucas Rater, Jordan Caron, and Zavon Overton; Head Coach Ty Harper; Assistant Coach Chris Payne; and Special Teams Coordinator Dave Bodamer upon the

occasion of capturing the 2018 NYSPHSAA Class D Football Championship; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Clymer/Sherman/Panama Football Team, Head Coach Ty Harper, Assistant Coach Chris Payne, and Special Teams Coordinator Dave Bodamer.