## 2019-J772

Senate Resolution No. 772

**BY: Senator GRIFFO** 

CONGRATULATING the Harrisville High School Boys Varsity Basketball Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2019 NYSPHSAA Basketball Class D Championship on March 17, 2019

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Harrisville High School Boys Varsity Basketball Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2019 NYSPHSAA Basketball Class D Championship; and

WHEREAS, To the praise and applause of their excited fans, the Pirates defeated Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville High School in a decisive 67-54 victory to capture their first Championship on Sunday, March 17, 2019, at the Floyd L. Maines Veterans Memorial Arena in Binghamton, New York; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of maroon and white, family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Pirates throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive 21-6 overall record; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as basketball, which demands athletic prowess, speed and agility, Coaches Brian Coloney, Tom Coloney, Rick Chartrand and Ed Jenack have worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the court; and

WHEREAS, Coaches Brian Coloney, Tom Coloney, Rick Chartrand and Ed Jenack and all of the outstanding athletes on the Harrisville High School Boys Varsity Basketball Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Harrisville High School Boys Varsity Basketball Team: Nathan Schmitt, Mathias Duut, Bill Monira, Nolan Parow, Nikola Granolic, Jadon Sullivan, Dalton Church, Adam Szlamczyski, Nathaniel Woodward, Matthew Allen, Peyton Schmitt, Scott Roberts, Foster Neeley and Christian Butler; Coaches Brian Coloney, Tom Coloney, Rick Chartrand and Ed Jenack upon the occasion of capturing the 2019 NYSPHSAA Basketball Class D Championship on March 17, 2019; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Harrisville High School Boys Varsity Basketball Team; Coaches Brian Coloney, Tom Coloney, Rick Chartrand and Ed Jenack; and Managers Maddox Sullivan and Jackson Jenack.