2019-J792

Senate Resolution No. 792

BY: Senator MAY

CONGRATULATING the Syracuse Cougars Boys Ice
Hockey Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2019
Division 1 NYSPHSAA Ice Hockey Championship on March
10, 2019

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, The Syracuse Cougars is a team made up of players from the four Syracuse City School District high schools, helping to unite our community; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Syracuse Cougars Boys Ice Hockey Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2019 Division-1 NYSPHSAA Ice Hockey Championship; to the praise and applause of their excited fans, the Cougars defeated Suffern High School

in a decisive 4-2 victory to win the Championship on Sunday, March 10, 2019, at the Harbor Center in Buffalo, New York; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning their black uniforms, family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Cougars throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive 24-1-1 record; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as ice hockey, which demands athletic prowess, speed and agility, Head Coach John Purcell and Assistant Coaches Charlie May, Neal Purcell, Ron Scott, and Walt Eccles worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the ice; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach John Purcell and all of the outstanding athletes on the Syracuse Cougars Boys Ice Hockey Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their schools; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Syracuse Cougars Boys Ice Hockey Team: Emmett Barry, Kaleb Benedict, Evan Carter, Andrew Corning, Zach Delaney, Ryan Durand, Ryan Eccles, Mack Etoll, Nathan Frye, Aidan Griffin, Jack Grooms, Nelson Jones, Kyle Lamson, CJ Malone, Stephan Matro, Alex Moreno, Skariwate Papineau, Ethan Petty, Kiernan Proud, Tommy Rioux, Shemar Thomas, Cameron Walsh, Wyatt Weil, Hugh White III, Philip Zollo; Head Coach John Purcell and Assistant Coaches Charlie May, Neal Purcell,

Ron Scott, and Walt Eccles on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Syracuse Cougars Boys Ice Hockey Team, Head Coach John Purcell and Assistant Coaches Charlie May, Neal Purcell, Ron Scott, and Walt Eccles.