2019-K365

Assembly Resolution No. 365

BY: M. of A. LiPetri

CONGRATULATING the Massapequa High School Wrestling Team upon the occasion of capturing the NYSPHSAA Division 1 Dual Meet Wrestling Championship on January 26, 2019

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Massapequa High School Wrestling Team upon the occasion of capturing their first NYSPHSAA Division 1 Dual Meet Wrestling Championship in 21 years; and

WHEREAS, To the praise and applause of their excited fans, the number one ranked Chiefs defeated third ranked Hilton High School by 12 points to capture the Championship on Saturday, January 26, 2019, at the SRC Arena and Events Center on the campus of Onondaga Community College in Syracuse, New York; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of navy and gold,

family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Chiefs throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive overall record; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as wrestling, which demands athletic prowess, speed and agility, Coaches Ron Serrano, Kevin Shippos, James Ondris, and Philip Soman worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the mat; and

WHEREAS, Coaches Ron Serrano, Kevin Shippos, James Ondris, and Philip Soman and all of the outstanding athletes on the Massapequa High School Wrestling Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Massapequa High School Wrestling Team: Christopher Angelo, Nicholas Antoniello, Carlos Arango, Ryan Bacigalupo, Michael Blando, Dominick Casamassina, John Casamassina, Jake Ciolino, Luke Ciolino, Anthony Conetta, Kyle Donohue, Garrett Gibbons, Alex Giuliani, Thomas Greenblatt, Ryan Howard, Luke Jarski, Daniel Kasin, Frank Kempton, Jack Kirschbaum, Joseph Kufner, Alexander Lee, Chase Liardi, Liam Mahoney, Cal Milano, Sal Minichiello, Marco Musso, Daniel O'Callaghan, Angelo Petrakis, Bill Piatti, Andrew Reiter, Mike Rollo,

Jeremy Scutellaro, Matthew Smithwick, William Smithwick, Thomas Stiehler, and Francesco Tarasi; and Coaches Ron Serrano, Kevin Shippos, James Ondris, and Philip Soman upon the occasion of capturing the NYSPHSAA Division 1 Dual Meet Wrestling Championship; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Massapequa High School Wrestling Team, and Coaches Ron Serrano, Kevin Shippos, James Ondris, and Philip Soman.