2019-K442

Assembly Resolution No. 442

BY: M. of A. Rozic

URGING the New York State Congressional delegation to support H.R. 7062 and S. 3592, relating to the Never Forget the Heroes: Permanent Authorization of the September 11th Victim Compensation Fund Act

WHEREAS, The September 11th Victim Compensation Fund (VCF) was created to provide compensation for losses resulting from 9/11 related illnesses and originally operated from 2001 to 2004; and

WHEREAS, Since its creation, funding for the VCF has been threatened and required reauthorization through the James Zadroga Act 9/11 Health and Compensation Act (Zadroga Act) which was first enacted in 2011, established the World Trade Center Health Program, and reactivated the VCF through October 2016; and

WHEREAS, The Zadroga Act was renewed in 2015 to permanently extend the World Trade Center Health Program and reauthorize an additional \$4.6 billion in funding through December 2020; and

WHEREAS, The United States Congress has introduced the Never Forget the Heroes: Permanent Authorization of the September 11th Victim Compensation Fund Act to ensure all 9/11 first responders and survivors continue receiving compensation; and

WHEREAS, VCF Special Master Rupa Bhattacharyya announced this year that approximately \$2.375 billion of the \$7.375 billion funding appropriated through December 2020 is available to compensate all pending and anticipated future claims filed through the program's expiration; and

WHEREAS, More than 50,000 New Yorkers have registered claims and the count is expected to rise as new 9/11 related cancers from exposure to Ground Zero toxins are discovered; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Congress of the United States be and hereby is respectfully memorialized by this Legislative Body to support H.R. 7062 and S. 3592, relating to the Never Forget the Heroes: Permanent Authorization of the September 11th Victim Compensation Fund Act; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the President of the Senate of the United States, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, and to each member of the Congress of the United States from the State of New York.