

Senator Persaud Honors 19 Community Members from Senate District 19 at Annual Award Ceremony

ROXANNE J. PERSAUD June 26, 2019

ISSUE: NYS SENATOR PERSAUD, SENATOR PERSAUD, PERSAUD, POWER 19



On Tuesday, June 25 at Brookdale Hospital Medical Center, Senator Persaud recognized 19 individuals who have made significant contributions in transforming their communities and institutions in and around Senate District 19. The honorees this year are firefighters, EMTs and students, as well as a government official, a social worker, a librarian, an engineer and an author.

The evening began with the Senator defining the meaning of "Power 19," followed by speeches from Samara Karasyk, senior vice president and chief policy officer of the Brooklyn Chamber of Commerce, and Jabari Hall, international empowerment speaker and founder of youth organization J-Has-Heart. Before presenting each honoree with a New York State Senate Proclamation, Senator Persaud expressed appreciation and gratitude for the honorees' selfless passion in promoting change and inspiring hope in the community, as well as their guests for supporting them and being the "wind beneath their wings." She also thanked the management and staff of Brookdale Hospital for their invaluable partnership in helping host the event and the Brooklyn Chamber of Commerce as well as Agape Bethel CDC for contributing giveaway bags for the honorees.

9

"Why 'Power 19'? Because we are Senate District 19, we are the Power 19," Senator Persaud said. "It is always our privilege and honor to recognize members of the community. Too often do we pass by people doing great things, the work that you all do, day in and day out; and that's why we are here, to say thank you. Over the past couple years we have honored many people, and all we ask is that you keep doing what you're doing and pay it forward. Some of you may live here, some of you may not, but all of you have invested interest in the community. You are all a part of this community."

The 2019 Senate District 19 Power 19 Honorees:

Emily Cabrera - Academic Excellence Award

Francis A. Valerio - Community Champion Award

Shamika Cousar - Community Empowerment Award

Iyana Curtis - Community Empowerment Award

Wayne Harris - Community Empowerment Award

Tom Mueller - Community Empowerment Award

Lieutenant Krystal S. Hayes - Community Engagement & Service Award

Walter Hochbrueckner - Community Engagement & Service Award

Michelle Singh - Humanitarian Award

Brandon Bloomfield - Innovative Leadership Award

Lieutenant Ricardo Otero - Innovation Leadership Award

Brittany Coleman - Scholastic Achievement Award

Jada Edmunds - Scholastic Achievement Award

Peter Haggerty - Service and Bravery Award

Robert Puckett - Service and Bravery Award

Edward Rodriguez - Service and Bravery Award

Cherise Birchwood - Youth Community Empowerment Award

Javon Hawker - Youth Community Empowerment Award

Malyka Bailey - Youth Leadership Award