

Opposition To The Parole of Inmate Anthony Bottom

ANDREW J. LANZA August 26, 2019

ISSUE: BOARD OF PAROLE



August 26, 2019

Sullivan Correctional Facility
Supervising Offender Rehabilitation Coordinator
325 Riverside Drive, P.O. Box 116
Fallsburg, New York, 12733-0116

RE: LETTER OF OPPOSITION TO THE PAROLE OF INMATE ANTHONY BOTTOM (DIN: 77A4283)

Dear Supervising Offender Rehabilitation Coordinator,

We are writing to express our strong opposition to the release of Anthony Bottom, who is serving a sentence of 25 years to life for the murder of two New York City Police Officers nearly 50 years ago and is now seeking parole. The bottom line is that Mr. Bottom's release will send a message that society no longer cares about the murder of law enforcement officers. It will do nothing but cause more pain for the still grieving families of those two police officers, Joseph Piagentini and Waverly Jones, who were murdered in cold blood by Mr. Bottom and his accomplices.

As a matter of fact, Mr. Bottom's accomplice, Herman Bell, was released on parole last year despite pleas from many New Yorkers, including the families of those two police officers. We believe the Parole Board made a mistake then and are hoping they do not make the same mistake now.

Time does not absolve Mr. Bottom of the heinous crime he committed, nor does it heal the pain felt by the families of Police Officers Piagentini and Jones. There is no rehabilitation or redemption possible for those who murder our police officers. We the undersigned respectfully ask that Mr. Bottom's request for parole be denied again, just as it has ten times before.

A police officer's life is no more valuable than the average citizen's; however, these are the men and women who keep us safe and enforce our laws. Our modern society strongly believes that anyone who kills a police officer is a criminal – that belief is reaffirmed in our laws. Granting Mr. Bottom parole would only diminish the integrity of our justice system.

We appreciate your consideration of our request and hope the members of the Parole Board will make the right decision.

Sincerely,

Michael Reilly	Andrew J. Lanza
Member of Assembly	State Senator
62 nd District	24 th District
Brian Kolb	John J. Flanagan
Member of Assembly	State Senator
Minority Leader, 131 st District	Minority Leader, 2 nd District
Nicole Malliotakis	Joseph A. Griffo
Member of Assembly	State Senator
64 th District	47 th District
John Mikulin	Patrick M. Gallivan
Member of Assembly	State Senator
17 th District	59 th District
Kevin Byrne	Fred Akshar
Member of Assembly	State Senator
94 th District	52 nd District
Ed Ra	George A. Amedore, Jr.
Member of Assembly	State Senator
19 th District	46 th District

Marjorie Byrnes	Phil Boyle
Member of Assembly	State Senator
133 rd District	4 th District
Kieran Michael Lalor	Rich Funke
Member of Assembly	State Senator
105 th District	55 th District
Karl A. Brabenec	Pamela Helming
Member of Assembly	State Senator
98 th District	54 th District
Jake Ashby	Chris Jacobs
Member of Assembly	State Senator
107 th District	60 th District
Dan Stec	Daphne Jordan
Member of Assembly	State Senator
114 th District	43 rd District
Michael Miller	Kenneth LaValle
Member of Assembly	State Senator
38 th District	ı st District
Andrew P. Raia	Betty Little
Member of Assembly	State Senator
12 th District	45 th District

Michael LiPetri	Thomas F. O'Mara
Member of Assembly	State Senator
9 th District	58 th District
Melissa Miller	Robert G. Ortt
Member of Assembly	State Senator
20 th District	62 nd District
Anthony H. Palumbo	Michael H. Ranzenhofer
Member of Assembly	State Senator
2 nd District	61 st District
Peter Lawrence	Patty Ritchie
Member of Assembly	State Senator
134 th District	48 th District
Andrew R. Garbarino	Joseph E. Robach
Member of Assembly	State Senator
7 th District	56 th District
Clifford Crouch	Cua Carina
Clifford Crouch	Sue Serino
Member of Assembly	State Senator
122 nd District	41 st District
Michael Montesano	James L. Seward
	State Senator
Member of Assembly	
15 th District	51 st District

Joseph DeStefano	James Tedisco
Member of Assembly	State Senator
3 rd District	49 th District
Chris Tague Member of Assembly 102 nd District	
John Salka	Steven Matteo
Member of Assembly	New York City Councilmember
101 st District	Minority Leader, 50 th District
Joseph M. Giglio	Joseph C. Borelli
Member of Assembly	New York City Councilmember
148 th District	Minority Whip, 51 st District
Robert Smullen	Robert Holden
Member of Assembly	New York City Councilmember
118 th District	30 th District
Michael J. Fitzpatrick	Eric Ulrich
Member of Assembly	New York City Councilmember
8 th District	32 nd District
Brian Manktelow Member of Assembly 130 th District	

Steve Hawley Member of Assembly	
139 th District	
David G. McDonough	
Member of Assembly 14 th District	
Philip A. Palmesano	
Member of Assembly	
132 nd District	
Billy Jones	
Member of Assembly	
115 th District	