## 2019-J3019

Senate Resolution No. 3019

**BY: Senator GAUGHRAN** 

COMMENDING the Music Program of the Plainview-Old Bethpage Middle School 7th-8th Grade Symphonic Band upon the occasion of its participation in Music In Our Schools Month

WHEREAS, The administrators of the Plainview-Old Bethpage School District are committed to actively promoting and nurturing a comprehensive music program for all the students of the district; and

WHEREAS, Those same administrators have been supportive, actively encouraging music program staff to devote their time and energy to developing the talents of their students; and

WHEREAS, The 7th-8th Grade Symphonic Band of the Plainview-Old Bethpage Middle School, Plainview, New York, comprised of students of the highest musical and academic caliber, will be performing on Tuesday, March 24, 2020, at the Empire State Plaza in Albany, in celebration of Music In Our Schools Month; and

WHEREAS, The New York State School Music Association sponsors this event and has helped it to evolve from a New York State Day into a month-long national observance; and

WHEREAS, Talent, dedication, and countless hours of practice have

made the 7th-8th Grade Symphonic Band of the Plainview-Old Bethpage Middle School the outstanding ensemble it is today; and

WHEREAS, The 7th-8th Grade Symphonic Band members include: Evan Alter, Logan Bedell, Jake Bricker, Isabella Canale, Tara Chaudhary, Benjamin Cheser, Daniel Cho, Jordan Dais, Tyler DeJoseph, Lauren DiPierri, Elle Dolinsky, Erin Donovan, Sean Fenster, Allison Gleicher, Abigail Goldblatt, Emily Gregori, Andrew Guttman, Simon Hazut, Makoto Hirano, Michael Iryami, Paul Iseman, Keisuke Ito, Daniel Karp, Henry Kettner, Caden Kim, Euan Kim, Haley Kim, Johanna Kim, Samuel Kim, Sean Klansky, Krisha Kothari, Bennett Lam, Anthony Lambdin, Emma Leblond, Joshua Lee, Noah Leibowitz, Dorian Levine, Joshua Lin, Aiden Manzo, Joseph Meder, Samantha Melville, Brandon Nanoo, Jack Ostroff, Alisa Oyanagi, Andrew Petosa, Alexander Protan, Ansh Rai, Sneha Raj, Ashna Rao, Victoria Robinson, Satsang Sardar, Matthew Sciara, Dean Scola, Nicholas Sideris, Emily Sidiski, Abigail Sim, Thomas Smith, Jesse Spitzer, Ryotaro Sugiyama, Jonathan Thomas, Sofia Tsvetkova, Ryan M. Wang, Adam Weltsch, Margot White, Jaclyn Whitmore, Richard Wong, Justin Woo, Jayden Wu, Jaclyn Xue, and Cameron Yip; and

WHEREAS, Ably led by their teacher Karen Bernstein, the members work hard at their music rehearsals, classroom assignments and practice sessions, fully aware that the amount of time and energy they are willing to expend directly affects the quality of their music; and

WHEREAS, The 7th-8th Grade Symphonic Band members, along with their parents and teachers, can be justifiably proud of their musical achievements and their participation in Music In Our Schools Month; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body extend a warm welcome to the

staff and students of Plainview-Old Bethpage Middle School as they visit Albany for their performance at the Empire State Plaza; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the 7th-8th Grade Symphonic Band, and Karen Bernstein.