2019-J3245

Senate Resolution No. 3245

BY: Senator STEWART-COUSINS

CONGRATULATING the 2020 New York State Women of Distinction

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to acknowledge and celebrate Women of Distinction who significantly add inspiration and encouragement to the people of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, The New York State Senate Women of Distinction program was created in 1998 as part of our state celebration of Women's History Month to honor exemplary women from across New York State whose singular professional or personal achievements, commitment to excellence and accomplishments merit special recognition; honorees are selected from nominations submitted from across the state; and

WHEREAS, Women of every economic, ethnic and religious background have made significant contributions that are reflected across all aspects of society; and

WHEREAS, It is the custom of this Legislative Body to pay tribute to individuals of remarkable character who have shown initiative and commitment in constantly pursuing higher goals for themselves, as well as acting as role models to all women in their community; and

WHEREAS, On behalf of the New York State Senate, I take this

opportunity to congratulate Holly Anderson, Donna Beal, Eva Benedict, Winsome Black-Batten, Carol Blackburn, Evonne Capers, Megan Castellano, MPA, Adrienne Ciampi, Denise Civiletti, Rabbi Judy Cohen-Rosenberg, Aracelia Cook, Kelly Craig, Kadie Curry, Mallory Delaney, Jacqueline Delmont, MD, Saeeda Lesley Dunston, Phyllis D. Ellis, RN, Lily Fan, Leslie Feinberg, Eileen Fisher, Anne D. Gioia, Barbara Goodman, Rizy Horowitz, Maria Ingrassia, Princella Jamerson, Cass Johnson, RN, Krista Jones, Lawana Y. Jones, Dawn Kelly, Abeda Khanam, Patricia Klimkewicz, CAPT, Ph.D., Gina Lieneck, Joyce Maddalone, Assistant Chief Martine N. Materasso, Colleen McQueen, RN, Courtney Love' Miller, Varnese Ann Mims Molina, Vanessa Moschak, Ngozi N. Moses, MSc, Kate Munzinger, Rhiannon Navin, Marianne Nicolosi, Tonya Ores, Dolores Orr, Daisy Paez, Diane Cameron Pascone, Bessie Patterson, Lynne Ruda, Lois Schwaeber, Lauren Shields, Margaret Snyder, Jaclyn M. Tacoronte, Antonia P. Rettaliata Tepe, Camelia Tepelus, Zulmilena Then, Elsia Vasquez, Sally Roesch Wagner, Ph.D., and Melba Wilson as 2020 New York State Senate Women of Distinction; and

WHEREAS, Women have become part of New York's lasting heritage by fighting against stereotypes, prejudice, and seemingly insurmountable obstacles; and

WHEREAS, From the women's suffrage movement just over 150 years ago to the present day, women have played and continue to play a crucial role in adding strength, understanding, and inspiration to the diversity and quality of life of the people of the State of New York; and

WHEREAS, New York State has been, and continues to be, the home to many distinguished women who have made their mark in history as pioneers

in their field, therefore laying the foundation for women after them to succeed; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body recognizes that New York State is the home to countless women who are strong and colorful threads, vital to the fabric of our rich heritage, who have contributed, and continue to add to the advancement of our culture through their traditional and non-traditional roles in society; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, It is the sense of this Legislative Body that those who enhance the well-being and vitality of their community and have shown a long and sustained commitment to excellence certainly have earned the recognition and applause of all the citizens of this great Empire State; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the aforementioned Women of Distinction.