

NEW YORK STATE SENATOR Anna M. Kaplan

Senator Anna M. Kaplan Presents 2020 NYS Senate Commendation Awards to Exceptional Individuals and Luminaries from the 7th District in Zoom Ceremony

## SENATOR ANNA KAPLAN October 14, 2020

ISSUE: LOCAL CHAMPIONS, LOCAL COMMUNITIES, HOMETOWN HERO, NYS SENATE COMMENDATION AWARD, SENATE COMMENDATION AWARD



On Tuesday, October 13, State Senator Anna M. Kaplan (D-Great Neck) hosted an awards ceremony to present the 2020 NYS Senate Commendation Award to exceptional individuals who have shown extraordinary dedication and made lasting contributions to the community. 19 individuals from diverse backgrounds, and from across the district, were awarded the prestigious honor in a virtual reception held over Zoom and attended by friends and family.

"The New York State Senate Commendation Award is one of the highest honors that I as Senator can present, and it is reserved for a select few individuals each year whose exceptional work to support the community merits this level of recognition," said **Senator Anna M. Kaplan**. "This year's recipients from the 7th District represent the best and brightest of our community, and it's my absolute privilege to give them the recognition they deserve."

The recipients for 2020 from the 7th Senate District include:

- Barbara Berkowitz
- Nisha Bhalla
- Robin Bolling
- Tiffany Capers
- Isma Chaudhry
- Kevin Dunn (posthumous)
- Sanjeev Jindal
- Jon Johnson Sr.
- Yanghong Li
- Marvin Makofsky
- Angelica Medina
- Vivian Moy
- Dr. Cynthia Orellana
- Julia Perry

- Jairo Reyes
- Marge Rogatz
- Anju Sharma
- Joanne Surletti
- Ravi Kanta Verma

**Senator Kaplan concluded** "these individuals truly represent the best of our community and I am so grateful for their service and dedication."