## 2021-K339

Assembly Resolution No. 339

BY: M. of A. Heastie

HONORING the memory of the deceased members of the New York State Assembly, in recognition of their careers in public service

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body that the quality and character of life in this great Empire State is enriched by the efforts of those individuals who commit their lives to public service; and

WHEREAS, The New York State Assembly, representing the people of the State of New York, is moved this day with profound sorrow at the recent deaths of members of the Assembly and to recognize their achievements; and

WHEREAS, John Behan, who served in the 1st Assembly District from 1979-1982 and in the 2nd Assembly District from 1983-1995, died on January 28, 2021; and

WHEREAS, John Tabner, who served in the 3rd Assembly District from 1953-1954, died on February 23, 2021; and

WHEREAS, Lawrence E. Corbett, Jr, who served in the 5th Assembly District from 1963-1972, died on October 20, 2020; and

WHEREAS, Antonia P. Rettaliata, who served in the 8th Assembly District from 1979-1982 and in the 10th Assembly District from 1983-1987, died on April 8, 2020; and

WHEREAS, Bentley Kassal, who served in the 5th Assembly District from 1957-1962, died on December 16, 2019; and

WHEREAS, John C. Cochrane, who served in the 6th Assembly District from 1973-1982 and in the 8th Assembly District from 1983-1994, died on November 4, 2019; and

WHEREAS, Nettie Mayersohn, who served in the 27th Assembly District from 1983-2010, died on August 13, 2020; and

WHEREAS, Clifford E. Wilson, who served in the 37th Assembly District from 1977-1984, died on December 14, 2018; and

WHEREAS, Florence M. Sullivan, who served in the 50th Assembly District from 1979-1982, died on June 21, 2020; and

WHEREAS, Joseph Ferris, who served in the 51st Assembly District from 1975-1984, died on June 20, 2020; and

WHEREAS, Richard Brodsky, who served in the 86th Assembly District from 1983-2002 and in the 92nd Assembly District from 2003-2010, died on April 8, 2020; and

WHEREAS, William J. Larkin, Jr, who served in the 97th Assembly District from 1979-1982 and in the 95th Assembly District from 1983-1990, died on August 31, 2019; and

WHEREAS, Benjamin Roosa, Jr, who served in the 100th Assembly

District from 1973-1975, died on August 28, 2019; and

WHEREAS, Frederick G. Field, Jr, who served in the 103rd Assembly District from 1969-1977, died on March 12, 2021; and

WHEREAS, William Magee, who served in the 111th Assembly District from 1991-2012 and in the 121st Assembly District from 2013-2018, died on December 24, 2020; and

WHEREAS, David F. Gantt, who served in the 133rd Assembly District from 1983-2012 and in the 137th Assembly District from 2013-2019, died on July 1, 2020; and

WHEREAS, Joseph Errigo, who served in the 136th Assembly District from 2001-2002, in the 130th Assembly District from 2003-2010, and in the 133rd Assembly District from 2016-2018, died on April 27, 2020; and

WHEREAS, John Hasper, who served in the 136th Assembly District from 1987-1992, died on January 4, 2020; and

WHEREAS, Aurelia Greene, who served in the 76th Assembly District from 1982-1992 and in the 77th Assembly District from 1993-2009, died on May 8, 2021; and

WHEREAS, It is with hope that future generations understand the value of public service to the citizens of this great Empire State, while this Legislative Body recognizes these former members of the New York State Assembly; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to honor recently deceased members of the New York State Assembly, in

recognition of their careers in public service; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the families of the aforementioned Assembly members.