2021-J1208

Senate Resolution No. 1208

BY: Senator STEWART-COUSINS

CONGRATULATING the 2021 New York State Senate
Women of Distinction

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to acknowledge and celebrate Women of Distinction who significantly add inspiration and encouragement to the people of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, The New York State Senate Women of Distinction program was created in 1998 as part of our State celebration of Women's History Month to honor exemplary women from across New York State whose professional or personal achievements, commitment to excellence and accomplishments merit special recognition; honorees are selected from nominations submitted from across the State; and

WHEREAS, Women of every economic, ethnic and religious background have made significant contributions that are reflected across all aspects of society; and

WHEREAS, It is the custom of this Legislative Body to pay tribute to individuals of remarkable character who have shown initiative and commitment in constantly pursuing higher goals for themselves, as well as acting as role models to all women in their community; and

WHEREAS, On behalf of the New York State Senate, I take this

opportunity to congratulate Sherry Algredo, Nowshin Ali, Carol B. Allen, M.D., Jacqueline Archer, Jaime-Faye Bean, Kyle McCauley Belokopitsky, Patricia Blair, Keisha Boatswain, Deborah Carim, Marjorie Carter, Mildred Casiano, Evelyn J. Clarke, Sabrina Cruz, Joan Cusack-McGuirk, Michelle Daniels, Maria Davis, Elizabeth Delacruz, Anne del Castillo, Gwendolyn Dowdell, Drea d'Nur, Somia Elrowmeim, Heidi Felix, Mary Maggio Fischer, Ridvan Foxhall, Joanna Fuentes, Sylvia Getman, Mary Hartshorne, Wendy L. Hersh, Doria E. Hillsman, Lisa Hofflich, Candace Aguirre Holley, Camara Lashawn Jackson, Celeste Jakubowski, Samantha Johnson, Jeannette Joseph-Greenaway, Tina Kaasmann-Dunn, JoAnn Kane-DeMott, Rebecca Kaufman, Gina Keely, Tracie Killar, Eun-Kyung Kim, Amanda Langseder, Christina M. Liepke, M.D., Alice Lowman, Nilka Martell, Alicia Massop-Flowers, D.O., Tamara Moise, D.O., Della Moore, Sandy Pirdy, Elizabeth Rose, Karen Rosolino, Jackie Rowe-Adams, Sheila Ryan, Elizabeth Baird Saenger, Ashleigh Stornelli, Keri Stromski, Dina Stuck, Sara I. Taylor, Deborah Tharrington, Katherine Conkling Thompson, Natasha R. Thompson, Eve Van de Wal and Tai Wang as 2021 New York State Senate Women of Distinction; and

WHEREAS, Women have become part of New York State's lasting heritage by fighting against stereotypes, prejudice, and seemingly insurmountable obstacles; and

WHEREAS, From the women's suffrage movement just over 150 years ago to the present day, women have played and continue to play a crucial role in adding strength, understanding, and inspiration to the diversity and quality of life of the people of the State of New York; and

WHEREAS, New York State has been, and continues to be, the home to many distinguished women who have made their mark in history as pioneers in their field, therefore laying the foundation for women after them to succeed; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body recognizes that New York State is the home to countless women who are strong and colorful threads, vital to the fabric of our rich heritage, who have contributed, and continue to add to the advancement of our culture through their traditional and non-traditional roles in society; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, It is the sense of this Legislative Body that those who enhance the well-being and vitality of their community and have shown a long and sustained commitment to excellence certainly have earned the recognition and applause of all the citizens of this great Empire State; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the aforementioned Women of Distinction.