2021-J2796

Senate Resolution No. 2796

BY: Senator COONEY

COMMEMORATING the 200th Anniversary of Monroe County, New York

WHEREAS, It is the intent of this Legislative Body to honor and commemorate the distinguished histories of the communities which comprise the noble body of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to commemorate the 200th Anniversary of Monroe County, New York, to be recognized with a year-long Bicentennial Celebration, recognizing the proud history and the promising future of Monroe County; and

WHEREAS, With the theme, "Celebrate More," this auspicious milestone will be celebrated with a myriad of events, including festivals, concerts, parades, and educational programming; and

WHEREAS, Monroe County, New York, named for President James Monroe, was created from portions of Ontario and Genesee Counties on February 23, 1821; the county already included 28,000 settlers in growing towns and villages that provided agricultural products and market support for the burgeoning mill town known as Rochester; and

WHEREAS, The county seat, Rochester, named for one of its three founders, used the power of the Genesee River to drive the mills and the

convenience of the Erie Canal to ship products; and

WHEREAS, Over the years, those products would change from flour to flowers, as the nursery business flourished thanks to the moderating effect of Lake Ontario; industry would again change the nature of local products to an increasing emphasis on technological innovations, while the county's towns and villages maintained the agricultural base that nourished growing business; and

WHEREAS, Today, Monroe County is comprised of 19 towns, 10 villages and the City of Rochester, the third largest city in the state, with a combined population of approximately 750,000 residents and a land area of 663.21 square miles; and

WHEREAS, From its early agricultural and milling start, Monroe County has developed into a modern center for high-technology industries, manufacturing, education, medicine and exports; and

WHEREAS, Monroe County is home to the World Headquarters for both the Eastman Kodak and Bausch & Lomb Corporations, and to manufacturing facilities such as General Motors, Xerox, and ITT Automotive; and

WHEREAS, Furthermore, on a per capita basis, Monroe County's industries export more manufactured goods than any other community in the United States of America; and

WHEREAS, Eight institutions of higher learning also call Monroe County home, including The University of Rochester, the Rochester

Institute of Technology and the National Institute for the Deaf, Monroe Community College, the State University of New York College at Brockport, Saint John Fisher College, Nazareth College and Roberts

Wesleyan College, which all add to the area's highly educated workforce and diversified cultural life; and

WHEREAS, Of historic origin, and remaining fruitful over the ebb and flow of decades of growth and change, Monroe County continues to provide the quintessential quality of life for its residents; and

WHEREAS, The residents of Monroe County have a bright outlook for the future of their community, which remains a beautiful place in which to live and raise a family; and

WHEREAS, In recognition of the Monroe County's rich history and enduring contribution to the State of New York, this Legislative Body is proud to pay tribute to this spirited county upon the occasion of its 200th Anniversary; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to commemorate the 200th Anniversary of Monroe County, recognizing the significance of the role it continues to play in the life of the community of the State of New York; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to Monroe County.