Sen. O'Mara's Women of Distinction Nomination Form

February 19, 2019

New York State celebrates Women's History Month throughout March and, as part of this annual observance, Senator O'Mara is accepting nominations for the Senate's 22nd annual "Women of Distinction" program to honor local women making outstanding contributions to area communities.

The Senate's "Women of Distinction" program coincides with a variety of Women's History Month events taking place across New York.  Senator O’Mara and his colleagues annually select one new “Woman of Distinction” honoree from their respective legislative districts.  This year’s honorees will be invited to an awards ceremony and reception in Albany on Tuesday, May 7, 2019.

"The ‘Woman of Distinction’ tribute is a meaningful recognition.  I look forward to this annual opportunity to recognize an outstanding area citizen," said Senator O’Mara, whose 58th Senate District encompasses all of Chemung, Schuyler, Steuben and Yates counties, and part of Tompkins County (the city and town of Ithaca, and the towns of Enfield, Newfield and Ulysses).  "We all know someone who makes an enormous difference to the community at large.  Whether she is a service provider, a teacher going above and beyond the call of duty, a businesswoman, or simply a community resident known for her good deeds, I'd like to see her recognized."

O’Mara has named the following local “Women of Distinction” throughout his tenure in the Senate: Carol Berry of Hornell, a long-time regional library professional and director of the Dormann Library in Bath (2011); Virginia “Ginny” Houseknecht of Watkins Glen, a local Cornell Cooperative Extension educator and leader, and founder of the Southern Tier Parkinson’s Disease Support Group (2012); Beverly “Bev” Stamp, co-owner and operator of Lakewood Vineyards in Schuyler County, and a beloved ambassador of New York State’s nationally and internationally renowned wine and grape industry (2013); Lauren R. Snyder of Penn Yan, a well-known public health professional in Yates County who served as the county’s Public Health Director for 28 years before retiring in 2009 (2014); Linda Thomas, longtime owner and operator of the Wellsburg Diner in the village of Wellsburg (2015); Dawn R. Smith, Transition and Care Management (TCM) Program Manager at the Bath VA Medical Center and a well-known local veterans’ advocate (2016); and Carmella Hoffman, Owner and Operator of Sunset View Creamery in Odessa, Schuyler County (2017); and, last year, Kathryn Boor, Dean of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences at Cornell University.,

The deadline for submitting nominations is Monday, March 18, 2019.  

Nominations can be submitted using the online form below.

E-mail requests for a nomination form can be sent to, or call any of the senator’s offices in Elmira (607-735-9671), Bath (607-776-3201), or Albany (518-455-2091).

Please provide the following nominee information
This information will be used to create a plaque and booklet recognizing each nominee and will be considered when selecting the 2019 Women of Distinction honoree.
Files must be less than 8 MB.
Allowed file types: jpg jpeg png pdf.
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.