Purpose for a
Saltwater Registry

The registry maintains a
"phone book" that helps
the National Marine
Fisheries Service quickly
and easily reach current
fisherman to learn about
their most recent fishing
activities. DEC plans to use
this information in the
future to better
communicate with
anglers.

Information collected will
help improve estimates of
fishing effort and landings
and will help ensure that
fishing regulations put in
place to conserve fisheries
are fair, effective and
based on sound science.

This information is vital as
it is used to set quotas,
size and bag limits and
seasons in subsequent
years. It is important for
all saltwater anglers to
register so that New York
receives a fair share of
harvest quotas.

New York State

Recreational Marine Fishing Registry

On March 31, 2011, the New York State Legislature established a no-fee
recreational marine fishing registry to take the place of the recreational marine
fishing license previously implemented in October 2009.

The new no-fee registry was signed with a "sunset clause," set to expire
December 31, 2013. This means that the recreational marine fishing license and
fees will return in 2014 unless the law is further amended or repealed.

Who Needs To Register?

You must register each year if you are:

“#=< Age 16 and older

“*=<Fishing in waters of the Marine and Coastal District

(all waters of the Atlantic Ocean within 3 nautical miles from the coast
and all other tidal waters within the state, including the Hudson River
up to the Governor Malcolm Wilson Tappan Zee Bridge)

“#=< Fishing in the Hudson River, Delaware River, or Mohawk River
and their tributaries (streams) for “migratory fish of the sea” such as
striped bass, hickory shad, blueback herring, or alewife

Purchased a 2011 or
Lifetime Marine Fishing
License

Anglers are automatically enrolled
in the 2011 registry if they have
already purchased one of the
following licenses:

“#=< 2011 annual, weekly, or daily
recreational marine fishing
license

=#= | ifetime recreational marine
fishing license

All previous license holders must
enroll in the Registry for the 2012
and 2013 fishing season.

Party and Charter Boats

Captains
A party or charter boat owner must
purchase a $250 license to carry
recreational fishing passengers in the
Marine and Coastal District or to land
fish taken outside the territorial
waters of New York (beyond 3 miles).
This license automatically enrolls the
party or charter vessel in the registry.

Anglers
You do not need to register if you are
fishing on an appropriately licensed
party or charter boat in New York’s
Marine and Coastal District.

This exemption does not apply for
party or charter boats in the Hudson
River and tributaries (streams) that are
north of the Tappan Zee Bridge.
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Registering is Easy! S O:l e
New York’s Waters

Online*
www.dec.ny.gov/permits/28941.html Federal Waters
(beyond 3 miles from shore)
The New York State Registry covers anglers

fishing in these waters.

By Phone*
1-86-NY-DECALS (1-866-933-2257)

Bordering Waters
Connecticut and Rhode Island
At this time, New York State is working with Connecticut
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Visit a town clerk; bait and tackle shop; sporting
goods store; or a DEC regional office in Albany,
Allegheny, Buffalo, Ray Brook, Stony Brook, and
Watertown where other hunting and fishing
licenses are offered.
A listing of License Issuing Agents is available at:
www.dec.ny.gov/permits/6101.html#person

recreational marine fishing registry will act as an
equivalent to the recreational marine fishing license. In
the mean time, please check with those states before
fishing.

New Jersey
New York anglers must register through New Jersey's
Saltwater Recreational Registry Program before fishing.

*If registering by phone or online, it may take up
to two to three weeks to receive a registration
card in the mail. However, you will receive a
confirmation number to verify your registration.
This can be used as proof of registration so you

: Non-bordering Waters
: can begin fishing immediately. Please carry this
)

The New York State Registry does not cover anglers

Y confirmation number with you while fishing. ) fishing in waters of non-bordering states.
Before Going Fishing
Grab Your Check the New York
License/Registration Card Fishing Season Regulations
The registry is your license to fish in Review the New York Recreational
marine waters. Failure to register or Saltwater Fishing Regulations for
carry your recreational marine license the current finfish size, season and
or registry card will subject you to bag limits.
enforcement and paying substantial www.dec.ny.gov/outdoor/7894.html
fines. Current fines can be up to S250.

More Information

New York Recreational Marine Fishing Registry
www.dec.ny.gov/permits/54950.html

—

Federal National Saltwater Angler Registry
www.countmyfish.noaa.gov
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